24" Monitor Pimp-Out

Discussion in 'Modding and Customization' started by z0s0, Aug 29, 2008.

  1. z0s0

    z0s0

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I couldn't resist ;-) Wanted to see how well the lil' Acer could power a 1920x1200 monitor. Does OK actually - and gives me a fairly convincing development environment. This is the 8GB Linpus version

    [​IMG]
     
    z0s0, Aug 29, 2008
    #1
  2. z0s0

    micha

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NH, USA
    I love how small the AAO is compared to the screen :D
     
    micha, Aug 29, 2008
    #2
  3. z0s0

    rjm

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool... so how did you do that?

    I mean, what's the status of the A1's internal panel? Disabled, 1024x600, or something else?

    If I could get my Linpus A1 to output to an external monitor at a different resolution to the internal display, it means presentations on a projector are do-able... so I'm very interested to know what the trick is.
     
    rjm, Aug 29, 2008
    #3
  4. z0s0

    z0s0

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Had to add lots to xorg.conf - here it is: (make a backup first!)
    Code:
    # Xorg configuration created by system-config-display
    Section "ServerFlags"
    	#Option "DontZap" "yes"
    	#Option "DontVTSwitch" "yes"
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
    	Identifier     "Default Layout"
    	Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    	Screen      1  "Screen1" 1 0
    	InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    	InputDevice    "Synaptics Mouse" "AlwaysCore"
    	InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Identifier  "Keyboard0"
    	Driver      "kbd"
    	Option	    "XkbModel" "pc105"
            Option      "XkbLayout" "us(euro)"
            Option      "XkbOptions" "grp:alt_shift_toggle"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Identifier "Synaptics Mouse"
            Driver     "synaptics"
            Option     "Device" "/dev/psaux"
            Option     "Protocol" "auto-dev"
    	Option	   "LeftEdge"  "1700"
      	Option	"RightEdge"     "5820"
    #"5300"
      	Option	"TopEdge"       "1700"
      	Option	"BottomEdge"    "4200"
      	Option	"FingerLow"	"25"
      	Option	"FingerHigh"	"30"
      	Option	"MaxTapTime"	"180"
      	Option	"MaxTapMove"	"220"
      	Option	"VertScrollDelta" "100"
      	Option	"MinSpeed"	"0.09"
      	Option	"MaxSpeed"	"0.18"
      	Option	"AccelFactor"	"0.0015"
      	Option	"SHMConfig"	"on"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Identifier  "Mouse0"
    	Driver      "mouse"
    	Option	    "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
    	Option	    "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    	Option	    "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    	Option	    "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    	Identifier  "Monitor0"
    	Modeline  "1024x600" 48.96 1024 1064 1168 1312 600 601 604 622 -HSync +VSync
    	
    	#Modeline  "1920x1200"
    #	Option	"Above"	"Monitor1"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    	Identifier  "Monitor1"
    	Modeline "1920x1200_60.00"  193.16  1920 2048 2256 2592  1200 1201 1204 1242  -HSync +Vsync
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier  "Videocard0"
    	Driver      "intel"
    	Option      "monitor-LVDS" "Monitor0"
    	Option	    "monitor-VGA" "Monitor1"
    	Option	    "Clone" "true"
    	Option	"MonitorLayout"	"LVDS,VGA"
    	BusID	"PCI:0:2:0"
    #	Screen	0
    	Option "MigrationHeuristic" "greedy"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier "Screen0"
    	Device     "Videocard0"
    	Monitor	    "Monitor0"
    	DefaultDepth     24
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Viewport   0 0
    		Depth     24
    		Modes    "1024x600"
    		#Virtual	1024 768
    	EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier "Screen1"
    	Device     "Videocard0"
    	Monitor	    "Monitor1"
    	DefaultDepth     24
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Viewport   0 0
    		Depth     24
    		Modes    "1920x1200_60.00"
    	EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    
     
    z0s0, Aug 29, 2008
    #4
  5. z0s0

    z0s0

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh and after boot just use the FN+F5 as normal to switch display outputs.
     
    z0s0, Aug 29, 2008
    #5
  6. z0s0

    rjm

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    All-right ... I see what you're at. All I need to do is edit that to set something like 1024x768 is the Monitor 1 sections.

    -and hope the projector isn't an old one that only supports 600x800 .. diving off to edit config files before giving a talk is not a good idea...

    I'll give it a shot. If that worked that would be one major gripe against Limpus removed.

    [The other is connecting over a proxy, if anyone has a tip handy. Internet access via the Firefox setup network setup menu can be configured just fine, but the rest of the network connections (package and driver updates, primarily) needs to be configured from the network manager instead, but I dont have access to the proxy settings from the menu.]
     
    rjm, Aug 29, 2008
    #6
  7. z0s0

    z0s0

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    To get the "ModeLine" details, type this into the console:

    gtf 1024 676 60

    Aside: It astonishes me that all this running around is still needed on modern Linux distros... I guess that's why they're still very much niche players!
     
    z0s0, Aug 29, 2008
    #7
  8. z0s0

    gbee

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    It isn't needed on the good distros.
     
    gbee, Aug 29, 2008
    #8
  9. z0s0

    jackluo923

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    843
    Likes Received:
    0
    LOL, I have the same ultra-super-cheap usb hub as you do. LOL
     
    jackluo923, Aug 29, 2008
    #9
  10. z0s0

    rjm

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    I noticed you have commented out the line

    Code:
    virtual 1024 768
    whereas the other posts on this say you should set it to the resolution of the external monitor. Any hints on what this line actually controls in clone mode?
     
    rjm, Sep 5, 2008
    #10
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.