AA1 Linux distribution guide with links - LONG

Discussion in 'Linux' started by mattytee, Feb 2, 2009.

1. mattytee

mattytee

So many threads come up about the various Linux distributions (which distro? etc) that I decided to post my experiences. I am an A+ certified computer technician, have been a systems and/or network admin professionally since 1996, and have been using GNU/Linux on and off since 1998. But I'm old and lazy, and I want what most new users probably want: a distribution that supports the hardware well and doesn't take much tweaking to run fast and stable.

Here's what I think about the distributions I've tried on 8GB SSD model:

1. Ubuntu Netbook Remix 1.01 (as described on this thread).
    Even with a custom kernel, boot is fairly slow. Custom kernels must be built using ICC due to lpia. Resume issues. I did not experience any problems but cardreader issues have been reported. Power consumption unimpressively high for lpia -- I'd think it would do better on battery life. Based on Hardy (8.04), which may or may not suit you -- it is an LTS version, but I assume most of us consider the web to be "support."
    EDIT: Also, the image wipes your SSD and makes an ext3 filesystem by default. Most people recommend an ext2 filesystem on an SSD as it doesn't write a journal periodically -- better for performance, fewer writes, but you trade off some reliability. An ext2 filesystem is much more easily corrupted. There are guides up on converting the filesystem to ext2 after an install. As far as I know this is the only distro which does not allow you to partition your own drive and choose your own filesystem. Thanks for the reminder, zaphod.

2. Ubuntu Intrepid UMPC (as described here).