AA1 Security

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by rumpelstiltskin, Oct 23, 2008.

1. rumpelstiltskin

rumpelstiltskin

hello, a newbie to the forum and linux saying hi...

I am newbie to linux, but not to computing, I figured out how to get into advanced mode within about 20mins of powering the AA1 on this afternoon.

Having figured out how to download Firestarter and install it, and run the software updates, I thought this is easy (ish)

Then I found out that Linpus doesn't support IP Tables :eek:

So after looking about for a while, and discovering this nice forum, I read the posts on the same subject, and I see that there are only a couple of open ports (X11 ? on 6000) etc.

Having a significant amount of Windows experience, and running ZoneAlarm, with Comodo AV and HIPS, and SpyBot Resident - I was a little concerned that I might be exposed to some vulnerabilities (I work in IT Security).

Now I know that the way Linux (or even UNIX) is designed means that its not like Windows (full of holes) - but I wondered, should I have at least something Security wise installed.

I primarily went Linux as I was concerned about Internet banking on Windows - I was going to install Mandriva ONE onto a laptop as a read only OS for Internet Banking, but I found the Acer Aspire ONE (so thought I'll have one of those!).

My Linpus device is going to sit behind a Cisco 5505 ASA Firewall, with a limited rulebase - but the personal firewall was more for when I am wirelessly connected.

So, rambling over... my question is, do I need to install any other software to take care of Security on the Linpus Lite distro? Or as it appears I am not vulnerable, and I won't be clicking any dodgy links - then do I need to worry?

thanks for listening

rumpelstiltskin, Oct 23, 2008
  2. rumpelstiltskin

donec