Acer Aspire One complete newbie

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by davesch, Jun 5, 2009.

1. davesch

davesch

Only recently received my 8meg SSD version, though spent half the time back with Acer resolving a dud battery problem. I have to say they were excellent though.

Anyway I have a list of questions, I'm sure the answers are somewhere in the site, but I either cannot find them or am confused by the answers, so would be grateful if someone can help.

Firstly I want to upgrade from 8G to 16G. I'm told that if I put an 8Gig SD card in the left slot, the Aspire will see it as a 16Gig drive. Is that so and if so do I need a particular class or speed of SD card ?

I want to make it dual boot such that I use Linplus most of the time for surfing etc, but also having XP ( I have the software ) for when I use software or hardware not supported by Linplus. Is this easy to do ?

I tried to play an AVI file, but media master reported "cannot find codec matching selected -vo and video format". Is it simply a matter of downloading a codec from somewhere, or do I need to do anything else ?

I'm completely new to Linux, so any advice welcome.

Thanks
    Dave.

davesch, Jun 5, 2009
  2. davesch

solpuerto

Hi davesch

You said,

Firstly I want to upgrade from 8G to 16G. I'm told that if I put an 8Gig SD card in the left slot, the Aspire will see it as a 16Gig drive. Is that so and if so do I need a particular class or speed of SD card ?

The Acer will report that you have approximately 16GB but you will not have a 16GB drive.

The following may help you understand what happens to the directory structure when an SD card is inserted into the LH slot.

When you mount an SD card there are 3 data directories as follows;

home -------- My Disk/// ------- /mnt/home --------(virtual directory)
    SD/MMC Drive (LH slot) ------ Removable Disk------- /media/disk --------(SD physical disk)
    SSD ------- Fixed Disk ------- /home/user -------(SSD physical disk)