Acer One 10" issues with Ubuntu

Discussion in 'Linux' started by Flatland2D, Feb 22, 2009.

1. Flatland2D

Flatland2D

I have been researching netbooks for about 6 months and really liked the Acer One. Do to financial reasons, I didn't end up buying one until recently, and I opted for the newer 10" model. However, I'm having some issues with trying to run Ubuntu 8.10 with it.

I can't get Sickboy's custom kernel to run on this. I posted about it in his thread.

I don't have any sound, even after compiling the alsa drivers myself (which took forever!). This includes the speakers and headphones.

I can't get suspend or hibernate to work when the lid is closed. It will always just turn off the screen. I can manually select suspend and it works, just not when I closed the lid. Same with hibernate.

The keyboard and touchpad feel unresponsive. I have the sensitivity pretty high on the touchpad for mousing around, but sometimes it seems like the tap to click is not sensitive enough (is there a special setting for this?). Sometimes I have to tap three times for it to register. And the keyboard sometimes drops keystrokes. This might partly be due to me adapting to the smaller keyboard, but I do genuinely feel like the keyboard is missing a keystroke every 50 characters or so.
    EDIT: In Windows, the keyboard feels the same way. Maybe it's just my typing, or maybe the hardware doesn't register a keystroke that well. I just don't feel totally connected to the keyboard.

I can't get the keyboard shortcuts for screen brightness to work (Fn + left/right arrow). Volume shortcuts work ok. Also, F11 in FireFox doesn't toggle full screen mode.
    EDIT: In Windows it doesn't work either. If I hit Fn + F11, the num lock light does not come on (or actually work). Is it possible my F11 key doesn't work? How could I know for sure?

I got the 6 cell 5800mAh battery which is supposed to get around 8 hours on runtime, but I only get about 4.5 (running Ubuntu 8.10).