ALT+F2 doesn't work

Discussion in 'Linux' started by Havoc, Apr 12, 2009.

1. Havoc

Havoc

Hello, I'm new to the Acer One. I use linux now for a few years, probably enough to be dangerous. But this is blocking me now.

I wanted a normal desktop and started with the thread in the beginners section "Linpus Lite advanced mode - how do you activate?" There they linked to "Get the Linux desktop you always wanted in 10 easy steps!" viewtopic.php?f=39&t=4310&p=28777#p28777 and I started following these instructions.

I got to "step 5: reboot" and now I have a desktop but the next step is "alt+F2". And nothing happens. I don't get a terminal. Tried left and right clicking on the desktop, other conbimations (in case the keyboard is messed up) but I cannot get a terminal or any other application. The bottom bar is there with clock, volume, battery and network. Clicking those works.

I did change some settings in the default interface: focus follows mouse, single click to activate, no docking of windows at the borders, probably a few more I forget.

Any idea how to continue without wiping the HD?

Havoc, Apr 12, 2009
  2. Havoc

klamath

Not sure if I right understood, but if you want to switch from desktop to a linux consolle you have to press " Ctrl+alt+F2 "

klamath, Apr 12, 2009
  3. Havoc

Havoc

If you want to go directly to a terminal, then ctrl+alt+f2 is correct. But they want to get a window where you can start a termainal. This worked before I got the desktop and it works in Gentoo.

I tried, but neither alt+f2 or ctrl+alt+f2 does anything. It looks as if the function buttons don't do anything?

Havoc, Apr 12, 2009
  4. Havoc

solpuerto

Hi Havoc

I followed the 10 steps etc and simultaneously pressing the Alt key and the F2 key brings up the Run program dialog box with terminal highlighted in the run box. Clicking Run will then open Terminal.