Autopackage

Discussion in 'Linux' started by sican, Feb 2, 2009.

1. sican

sican

Hi I've had my Acer Aspire one for a month now and starting to get my head around Linpus Linux Lite.
    I'm a trainee teacher and want to install Smart Notebook on my netbook. I found the Linux download on their site. http://www2.smarttech.com/st/en-US/Supp ... 7Linux.htm So I downloaded it and then I get a bit stuck. I've tried extracting and when I try to open the package I get the following message
    "The autopackage support code could not be installed. It can be manually downloaded and installed by running the installation script located in the downloaded archive."

Can anyone please talk me through how to get the package to install.

Many thanks

Si

sican, Feb 2, 2009
  2. sican

daldred

OK; have you decompressed the archive? The standard Xarchiver can do this for you.

Once it's decompressed into a directory, go to that directory in the file manager, and see what's in there. Can you see something like 'install.sh'?

(I can't check myself without downloading the software, and they seem to want personal details before allowing a download).

daldred, Feb 3, 2009
  3. sican

sican

This is what I've been doing
    downloaded package from Smart site - Firefox saved to downloads
    Went to downloads folder file is called smartboardsoftware9.7.68.0.package.tar.gz (TGZ icon)
    Xarchiver launches - I'm then presented with lots of files mostly linxux hardware notes
    I think the file I want is that says .package seems only logical one and I've tried extracting is this the right action?
    I've tried extracting it to my documents etc
    The file is now says shell script when I click on properties icon sh.
    When I try and run it I get the error about the auto package support code.
    What am I doing wrong?

sican, Feb 4, 2009
  4. sican

daldred