Batteries and OSX?

Discussion in 'MacOS' started by kap09, Mar 31, 2009.

1. kap09

kap09

After installing iAtkos a few weeks ago, I got my 6 cell from mambate in the mail today. After hearing of others getting burned on the capacity with mambate batteries, I immediately opened system profiler to check the battery specs. It raised a few questions about how OSX handles our batteries?

For one, the battery meter usually indicates 2 hrs on a fully charged 3 cell. This is lower than the performance I've had in Linpus/XP/Fedora. However, since I'm constantly turning the display off during my on and off use I have no idea what the machine is actually getting on the 3 cell. I consistently pulled 2.5 hrs with the other OS.

Enter the 6 cell. System profiler indicated 4200 or so, indicating I may have received the fabled 4400 mambate bust. Decided to give it a shot before demanding a replacement or refund. Out of curiousity I put in the OEM 3 cell. Profiler indicates just over 1800mah. I have full faith that the OEM battery rating off 2200 is accurate, so this raises some question over how the battery is seen by OSX? Also, I may not have a bum battery from mambate after all.

Finally, battery charging with OSX running is PAINFULLY slow. The 3 cell charged reasonably quick under XP/Linpus, etc but seems to crawl with OSX running. Times still remain normal when charging with the machine off.

Does anyone else have any insight or experience? I searched pretty hard for info on this stuff, so if it exists it's not easy to find. Maybe this can become a central source for the osx86 running AAO folks.

kap09, Mar 31, 2009
  2. kap09

adamsweeting

Are you running the vanilla kernel?

If so, you could try running VoodooPower - might have better laptop power support for you. Check out SuperHai on InsanelyMac.

adamsweeting, Mar 31, 2009
  3. kap09

kap09