battery life

Discussion in 'Linux' started by L0c, Mar 19, 2009.

1. L0c

L0c

hi, i have 3-cell battery
    laptop works on battery for 2:40h on windows but only for 1:50-2:00h on fedora
    there must be a way to increase battery life, but i'm a beginner with linux so i don't know.

thnx to everyone for help

L0c, Mar 19, 2009
  2. L0c

HappyHarry

have you measured this time? as i get about 2hrs actual use on both linux and windows

phil

HappyHarry, Mar 20, 2009
  3. L0c

L0c

yes ... its approximatly correct, so i guess there's a need to tweak fedora...
    or is there some other distro that can be installed from usb and uses less battery?

L0c, Mar 20, 2009
  4. L0c

HappyHarry

is this what windows tells you when you have a full battery? as it doesn't last near as long as that in actual use ;) like i said i get about 2 hrs from both fedora10 xfce and windows xp during normal use :), even linpus only get's just over two hours and it was specifically modified for the one ;)

phil

HappyHarry, Mar 21, 2009
  5. L0c

L0c

but i tested it... both windows and linux
    i measured time and as i said the time written in OS is approx correct

maybe i'll give linpus a shot if i find a way to install it from usb

L0c, Mar 21, 2009
  6. L0c

HappyHarry

HappyHarry, Mar 21, 2009
  7. L0c

aabxx

Read my thread at the ubuntu forum. I did some measurements. From those, I estimated that with my current ubuntu setup, I could browse slashdot.org in one tab for 2 hours and 40 minutes on a 3 cell (sound muted, lowest brightness, wifi on).

These are the biggest things that help from my testing:
    - Reduce brightness (function key plus left or right)
    - Disable wifi (there's a switch on the machine, but it might not
    be active by default in fedora)
    - Have your USB ports use less power when idle
    - Keep your applications light/disable startup services not needed
    - Use CPU scaling and put it to something energy conserving

Things I have not tested: