Browser icon doesn't work-help please!

Discussion in 'Linux' started by Jockthearab, Jan 31, 2009.

1. Jockthearab

Jockthearab

I was wondering if someone can help me to get the Browser icon to work! I've specifically joined this forum to try & find the answers through searching previous posts, but haven't found anything that works so far. I've managed to successfully download & install firefox 3 thinking that would solve the problem, but no luck, so hope someone can help me...

When I click the Browser icon, there is a little flashing circle that goes around then nothing happens.

However, I can access the internet by right clicking on the desktop & selecting Web browser.

I'm a total Linux newbie who's just trying to get my daughters new AA1 working as it should. Any help would be very much appreciated ;0

Jockthearab, Jan 31, 2009
  2. Jockthearab

woodland

Hi,

there are quite a "few" posts with regard to this problem.. if searching this forum didn't help you out i would be very surprised.

If you want some help you really need to give us lots more info and you will have to describe what you have tried so far and you have to include error messages related to your trials.

woodland, Jan 31, 2009
  3. Jockthearab

Jockthearab

Cheers for taking the time to reply, the weird thing was that there were no error messages! Basically clicking on the Browser icon resulted in nothing happening. The only way to get internet access was to right click on the desktop & then select Web Browser. I just wanted to make life a wee bit easier for my daughter by clicking on the icon & away she could've gone surfing to her hearts content.