Can I use citrix ica on default AAO linux

Discussion in 'Linux' started by Poldie, Sep 17, 2008.

1. Poldie

Poldie

I'm a developer with no experience of Linux. This box will be what I use to learn a bit about it, but I'm primarily interested in getting it because I have to dial into work for support purposes, and for that I *have* to use the `citrix ica` client. I've checked, and it's supported on the version of linux which runs on the eee pc 701, but the screen/keyboard is a bit crap on that model, and for the money I'd need to spend on the 900/901 model I can get an AAO. Does the `citrix ica` client run on the Linpus plus linux?

Perhaps this should be a seperate question, but can you install more than one distro of linux on the box so that I can choose, at boot time, which one to use for that session? I don't wish to dismiss Linpus without ever having used it, but assuming Linpus doesn't support citrix (or vice versa), could I just install another one? I've seen the instructions for installing a different linux and although it doesn't look too complicated, I'm a little concerned that I'll mess it up and end up with a non-booting AAO.

Poldie, Sep 17, 2008
  2. Poldie

scottro

I haven't tried the ica client on Linpus--it runs without problem on Fedora, but that's using a later version of firefox.

You can dual boot. It's not that complex, but if you're planning to do so, I would buy the XP model with the 120 gig hard drive.

There are three reasons for this. One is obviously the extra space. The second is that the SSD has rather slow write speeds, and I've found with Ubuntu and Fedora that applying massive updates (which happens after initial install, since the install image is usually behind) can be painfully slow. The third is that the default Linpus installation makes this a little harder than most distributions make it, and actually, I doubt I'd use it in a dual boot situation--I'd probably put two other distributions on it.