Cannot install VLC - Repository problems..

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by champagj, Aug 20, 2008.

1. champagj

champagj

I have tried many time to install to no avail: either vis the terminal using yum or the install app on the browser.

I'm new to Linux and I first tried to install while the mirrors were down. I started to "play" with the repositories list in the "add/remove software utility" and deleted one by mistake. Btw, no confirmation box, just went and I dont know which one I killed.

The errors looks like this via the terminal:

Error: Missing Dependency: libgnutls.so.13(GNUTLS_1_3) is needed by package libpurple
    Error: Missing Dependency: libedataserver-1.2.so.9 is needed by package ame
    Error: Missing Dependency: libgnutls.so.13 is needed by package ame
    Error: Missing Dependency: libgnutls.so.13 is needed by package libpurple
    Error: Missing Dependency: libgnutls.so.13 is needed by package vlc-core
    Error: Missing Dependency: libedataserver-1.2.so.9 is needed by package acerim
    Error: Missing Dependency: libgnutls.so.13(GNUTLS_1_3) is needed by package vlc-core
    Error: Missing Dependency: libgnutls.so.13 is needed by package acerim

Can someone help? ;)

JF

champagj, Aug 20, 2008
  2. champagj

rebuilder

Can you open a terminal and do an "ls /etc/yum.repos.d/" (without quotes)? This is, as far as I can tell, where the repository info is stored. Mine has the following files:
    fedora-development.repo
    fedora.repo
    fedora-updates.repo
    fedora-updates-testing.repo
    livna-devel.repo
    livna.repo
    livna-testing.repo

If one of these is missing on your install, I'd say that's the repository you're missing. If so, post here and I'll paste the contents of the relevant file.

rebuilder, Aug 20, 2008
  3. champagj

champagj

Big thanks for the help. Much appreciated. I usually get myself around with enough ate nights and google but...

I'm missing the fedora.repo