Can't get onto internet

Discussion in 'Linux' started by CFC1, Apr 26, 2009.

1. CFC1

CFC1

This is my first post, so hello to all on here! I need help, and don't even know if I'm in the right place, TBH, so MODS please move if necessary (but please let me know where to)!

I am a complete noob, but couldn't resist buying a cheap Acer Aspire One yesterday from Tesco. It's the 1GB 120G model with Linux ... They are selling it for £129, but I managed to get it for £99, because the sales assistant misquoted the price. ... Anyway, I can't get it logged on to the internet. From the main menu, I click on "Browser" and in the address box it says "http://en.us.acer.yahoo.com/" but whatever other address I type in, it gives the same message: SERVER NOT FOUND ... Firefox can't find the server at .... address

... Check the address for typing errors...
    ... If you are unable to load any pages, check your computers network connection
    ... If your computer or network is protected by a firewall or proxy, make sure that Firefox is permitted to access the Web

I have a BT Homehub, that my son's laptop with windows xp picked up straight away!... I went through the handbooks' "advanced wireless connection setting" procedure and it correctly identified the BT Homehub.

However, both that laptop and my main pc are running on internet explorer ... and this acer is firefox. Is that my problem?... And if so, how can I solve it?

I haven't got Firefox on either other machines.

Any help would be really appreciated!

CFC1, Apr 26, 2009
  2. CFC1

solpuerto

Hi CFC1 and welcome.

That is a great price for the One.
    I doubt it is Firefox as I have a similar set up to yours and it works for me. I even run Firefox and Explorer on my desktop PC running XP.