Can't Live Update or install anything!?!?!

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by jars121, Nov 10, 2008.

1. jars121

jars121

Hey guys,

I'm a Linux noob and haven't been able to find any advice elsewhere. When I click on the Live Update icon and then Update, it seems to try and connect for about 5 seconds then gives me an error message saying that you can't connect to the server, and suggests that I'm not on the internet. I have tried this for both wireless and a lan connection, but it doesn't work!

Also, when I try to install programms it gets stuck on the "Retrieving Software Information" section and never loads. I have tried using several yum commands that I have found on other sites, but nothing seems to help fix the problem! I have a feeling that getting Live Update to work will solve the installing problem, so does anyone have any advice? It sure would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

jars121, Nov 10, 2008
  2. jars121

mischiefbec

DO NOT LIVE UPDATE! It took me ten days to get the live update to work and now my whole system is dead! Waiting on replies from more experienced members but I would hate for you to have the same problem!

Love Rebecca xxx

mischiefbec, Nov 10, 2008
  3. jars121

jars121

Ok....So then what do I do about updating the repositories (which don't work) and installing programs? I thought the Live Update was the only way of doing that?

jars121, Nov 11, 2008
  4. jars121

daldred

5. jars121

jars121

Ok, I have tried using the code you posted in that thread, but it doesn't seem to work? When I enter in the cd /var/cache/online-updater and press enter nothing happens? Then the chmod 777 online-updater080904.sh returns an error. Also, the rm online* command reutnrs the same error? What am I doing wrong (I have root authority btw).

Also, I just realised that when I do:

Code:
    # cd/var/cache/online-updater
    # ls -la