Does the Aspire One need a firewall?

Discussion in 'Linux' started by fryups, Feb 8, 2009.

1. fryups

fryups

Hi

First, sorry if this post is in the wrong forum but this seemed most appropriate. I have just bought an Aspire One 150Ab (1Mb RAM, 120Gb) and have been very impressed. However, I am completely new to Linux having only used Windows until now and am concerned about security on the internet. I have searched numerous sites and it seems the advice is not to be too concerned about Anti Virus, but be alert to other intrusions. So, do I need a firewall application (I use COMODO on my Acer laptop) and if so, what program would you recommend. Also, how are applications installed on this OS?

Grateful for any help. Fryups

fryups, Feb 8, 2009
  2. fryups

Rotaj

The I.P. table for the firewall is built into the kernel. A GUI based front-end for this is firestarter. It is available for Ubuntu. It is probably also available in the fedora repositories.

Rotaj, Feb 9, 2009
  3. fryups

gedakc

gedakc, Feb 9, 2009
  4. fryups

fryups

Thanks for the advice. However, unfortunately you have lost me - I don't understand the technicalities you refer to as I'm not Linux literate. In simple terms is it safe to use the Acer One for banking etc or am I going to be subject to spying, viruses etc?

fryups, Feb 9, 2009
  5. fryups

Andysan

Hi there,

Basically, what Rotaj was trying to say is that the kernel has a firewall built in - you can get a very basic overview on what a kernel is here, don't worry if it goes over your head - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kernel_(computer_science)

gedakc however has noted that the default Linpus kernel has had this removed. I've taken a look at the link posted and it's not an easy fix.