e mail help

Discussion in 'Linux' started by bren, Nov 15, 2008.

1. bren

bren

Hi there, I only got my Aspire yesterday. I have maanged to get connected and am trying to set it up so i can receive email on my talktalk account. Although I can send emails on this address whnever they try to reply it comes back to my main p.c not my laptop???? Anyone know how to fix this. I have never used linux before and am used to email in outlook express so its all a bit confusing? I havent even started on trying to connect to my printer one thing at a time!!! Help appreciated. :| :| :cry:

bren, Nov 15, 2008
  2. bren

barrie

Hi bren,

I am new here to only got my notebook last weekend, so if you have solved this just disregard my post, but you say that you have been using outlook express, I used Outlook and just adopted exactly the same account settings for two email addresses and replicated them into the Mail Client on my Acer Aspire One.

All worked fine but I have now loaded Mozilla Thunderbird for Linux 3.0 Alpha 3 and use this as I prefer its interface.

When you try and access you email account / accounts on your AAO do you get a dialogue box appear re accessing server, and enter a password?

Also how long do you leave your emails on the server in OE on the PC? As I feel this is an account setting within OE on the PC causing this?

Regards
    barrie

barrie, Nov 15, 2008
  3. bren

magnox