Expectant user

Discussion in 'Linux' started by radtek, Sep 16, 2008.

1. radtek

radtek

Hi all,

First post.

I've ordered an Acer One from Newegg. Anxiously awaiting... Meanwhile cruising the web/forums for info til it arrives...

I've been a devout Linux user for years. I'm no expert. Far from it. I'm getting this device for its portability and supposed Linux friendliness. Mainly for wifi web browsing and a little multimedia. My Toshiba is too big for the workplace where I'm constantly leaving it unsecured.

I favor Ubuntu, but am leaning towards Linpus providing it gives rock stable reliable performance. I've also followed Puppy from inception and it looks promising.

Of course I want complete control- but I want worry free usage. Period. Like my cell phone. Bells and whistles are negotiable.

Best Linux OS?

radtek, Sep 16, 2008
  2. radtek

radu

I had a problem with Linpus where I calibrated my battery by letting the laptop battery die, and when I rebooted the wifi network was gone :/ I didn't know how to get it back (I suspect it had to do with the disk corruption resulted from the write cache), so I installed Ubuntu Intrepid (alpha 5), which worked fine for a day, then my wifi was gone again (for a mysterious reason). Now I am trying Mandriva 2009 rc1 (Gnome), and so far so good when it comes to hardware support; no trouble at all.

radu, Sep 16, 2008
  3. radtek

radtek

I know this may sound a little basic, but have you tried to toggle the wifi switch? I noticed it doesn't always stay on.

radtek, Sep 19, 2008
  4. radtek

kevin

My impression is that it's easier to make a useful, stable, and expandable machine by tweaking the Linpus distribution than to install a different one. I don't think that installing a different distribution is necessarily a bad idea, I just think it is unnecessary. Having said that, I've mostly used RedHat (now Fedora) Linux systems, so my impressions might be coloured by the fact that I find Linpus rather familiar.