External LCD monitor

Discussion in 'Linux' started by c-m, Feb 10, 2009.

  1. c-m

    c-m

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have attached my 22" 1680x1050 monitor to my Aspire one. But how do i get it to display the correct resolution rather than 1024x768?
     
    c-m, Feb 10, 2009
    #1
  2. c-m

    rubberglove

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm driving my 22 inch 1680x1050 monitor with my AA0 right now.

    I had to fiddle with my xorg.conf to get it to work (running jaunty here with the sickboy kernel).
    Oddly enough, when I tried out linux4one, it seemed to work out of the box.

    Here's what I use:

    Code:
    Section "Device"
        Identifier  "Configured Video Device"
        Option "monitor-LVDS" "Configured Monitor"
        Option "monitor-VGA" "External Monitor"
        Option "NoDDC"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier  "Configured Monitor"
        DisplaySize 195 113
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier  "External Monitor"
        Modeline "1680x1050_60.00"  146.25  1680 1784 1960 2240  1050 1053 1059 1089 -hsync +vsync
        Option "below" "Configured Monitor"
        Option "PreferredMode" "1680x1050_60.00"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier  "Default Screen"
        Monitor     "Configured Monitor"
        Device      "Configured Video Device"
        SubSection "Display"
            Virtual 1680 1650
            Modes    "1024x600"  "800x600"  "640x480"
        EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Note -- I put the aspire's screen 'above' the external monitor, rather then left/right of it, just to keep the virtual size down (i think strange things will happen if your virtual screen size gets above 2048 px in either direction). The only way I can get the screen on/off is by rebooting, however (xrandr commands don't seem to do it, and restarting X was a bit flakey).

    That xorg.conf should work in intrepid as well, but you'd probably have to change it to make it work with hardy.
     
    rubberglove, Feb 10, 2009
    #2
  3. c-m

    c-m

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    I messed about with the xorg.conf earlier but could not get 1680x1050 and 1024x600 both working with the AAO screen showing the full desktop. Instead is only showed part of the larger screen.

    I will give your settings a try. Cheers.
     
    c-m, Feb 10, 2009
    #3
  4. c-m

    c-m

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm on intrepit and those settings do not work for me.

    When I restart, the external monitor is in 1024x768 and the internal display is missing its tool bars.
     
    c-m, Feb 11, 2009
    #4
  5. c-m

    rubberglove

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's strange... Last night I happened to install intrepid (kuki linux!), and that xorg.conf worked for me again.
    I did, however, have to drop the 'DisplaySize 195 113' line, since it was causing the fonts on my external monitor to be enormous.

    Maybe try posting the output of xrandr (just type xrandr at the terminal) with those settings loaded....

    The missing tool bars/panels is normal. Gnome, XFCE and openbox all seem to place the panels on the external monitor by default when it is connected. There may be options to have it appear on both (alternatively, it might be because of the fact that the internal screen is placed 'above' the external).
     
    rubberglove, Feb 13, 2009
    #5
  6. c-m

    HungOverOnATues

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    All I did in Intrepid was go to System > Preferences > Screen Resolution, unchecked "Mirror Screens," apply, select the display and choose 1680x1050 from the dropdown menu, apply. AAO 120GB 6-cell, Samsung 216bw, Ubuntu 8.10 2.6.27-11.
     
    HungOverOnATues, Feb 13, 2009
    #6
  7. c-m

    c-m

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    It seems to treat the both displays together as one larger screen. This is a problem as you get some applications stradling the two screens. Also it is impossible to find a decent wallpaper that fits.
     
    c-m, Feb 14, 2009
    #7
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.