Fanless Aspire One

Discussion in 'Modding and Customization' started by obarriel, Jul 22, 2008.

  1. obarriel

    casainho

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am running now with a undervoltage, I have on rc.local:
    Code:
    echo "12:24 10:17 8:10 6:3" > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/phc_controls
    Original value at 1600MHz were 1260mv but now is at 1068mV -- I don't really know If it is working, If there is really any savings...

    I am also building again the kernel with a small change on coretemp.c file, looks like lm_sensors will work after so we can read the temperatures after.

    In coretemp.c and an changing:
    Code:
    		/* check if family 6, models 0xe, 0xf, 0x16, 0x17 */
    		if ((c->cpuid_level < 0) || (c->x86 != 0x6) ||
    		    !((c->x86_model == 0xe) || (c->x86_model == 0xf) ||
    			(c->x86_model == 0x16) || (c->x86_model == 0x17) || (c->x86_model == 0x1c))) {
    Family 6 model 0x1c looks like to be this Atom...
     
    casainho, Aug 17, 2008
  2. obarriel

    apaige

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you confirm that the temperature value returned by lm_sensors is the same as the one returned by the perl script (acer_ec.pl ?= 58)?
     
    apaige, Aug 18, 2008
  3. obarriel

    Davidcowling

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
    sorry if im just being stupid, but is the fan in the AA1 directly over the atom? or bits of the mobo?
     
    Davidcowling, Aug 18, 2008
  4. obarriel

    Guest Guest

    lm_sensors is working? which version do you use? i tried to run it, but it doesn't recognize any sensor..

    UPDATE: lol.. forget about it.. just read the answer above..
     
    Guest, Aug 18, 2008
  5. obarriel

    rachel

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Submit the patch, so it should get into the stock kernel for irrational ibex! :-D
     
    rachel, Aug 18, 2008
  6. obarriel

    casainho

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rachel, I did build a few times the kernel with that change, but I can't use coretemp... I also never used it :) -- do you have any experience? did you build kernel?

    I also started wiki pages for this subjects...
     
    casainho, Aug 18, 2008
  7. obarriel

    Guest Guest

    are you sure you can use lm-sensors without a driver for the sensor? as far as i know, lm-sensor uses different routines to access an controller which gives back the temperature and other values.. but i may be wrong..
     
    Guest, Aug 18, 2008
  8. obarriel

    apaige

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    The coretemp patch doesn't seem to enable reading the CPU temperature the normal way, but running "sensors" with no arguments reports:
    Code:
    coretemp-isa-0000
    Adapter: ISA adapter
    Core 0:      +31.0°C  (crit = +95.0°C)
    
    coretemp-isa-0001
    Adapter: ISA adapter
    Core 1:      +31.0°C  (crit = +95.0°C)
    …while the acer_pl script returns a value of 50 :-/ So I don't know which is which.
     
    apaige, Aug 18, 2008
  9. obarriel

    jimduchek

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I exchanged email with the maintainer of the coretemp code. He's aware of the Atom and apparently there's a constant that's different as well. Nevertheless I suppose it can still be used to tell 'relative' cooling.

    Jim
     
    jimduchek, Aug 18, 2008
  10. obarriel

    casainho

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okok - I were trying because jimducheck told me about this patch for coretemp :) -- I was hoping to get temperature for mother board and not just for the CPU.
     
    casainho, Aug 18, 2008
  11. obarriel

    esaym

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am not sure if that is right. My one has been on for several hours and pointing an IR temp probe (like this http://accesstotools.com/?p=54 ) up the vent got a reading of 43*C. I remember when I was running the default linpus install the readings in cat /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/THRM/temperature were always around 50*C

    Also if anyone is still running the default linpus install could you please provide me with the out put of:
    cat /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/THRM/temperature

    Thanks,
     
    esaym, Aug 19, 2008
  12. obarriel

    Guest Guest

    this is quite interesting.. if linpus is able to read the temperature to thermal_zone there must be some kernel module or modified acpi table which manage this..

    if anyone has a default linpus installation, please post the output of

    lsmod
    dmesg
    cat /boot/grub/menu.lst

    thanks!
     
    Guest, Aug 19, 2008
  13. obarriel

    qball

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    In the diff I took off the kernel source, there is no change to coretemp file. When I have more time I will look closer.
     
    qball, Aug 19, 2008
  14. obarriel

    apaige

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll say… When I booted this morning, acer_pl reported a temperature of 30°C, while sensors reported… 7°C :eek:
     
    apaige, Aug 19, 2008
  15. obarriel

    Wicked

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    French in Finland
    cat /boot/grub/menu.lst and cat /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/THRM/temperature
    Nothing to see there, move along...

    Code:
    # lsmod
    Module                  Size  Used by
    fuse                   26708  2 
    aufs                   95956  3 
    wlan_tkip               8384  0 
    wlan_ccmp               4480  0 
    wlan_xauth               640  0 
    wlan_wep                3904  0 
    wlan_acl                2048  0 
    wlan_scan_sta           7232  1 
    fastoffdrv               768  0 [permanent]
    pciehp                 22232  0 
    pci_hotplug             7688  1 pciehp
    cpufreq_conservative     3080  0 
    cpufreq_userspace       1388  0 
    cpufreq_powersave        640  0 
    cpufreq_stats           2256  0 
    cpufreq_ondemand        3532  1 
    acpi_cpufreq            3604  1 
    freq_table              1608  3 cpufreq_stats,cpufreq_ondemand,acpi_cpufreq
    mspro_block             9860  0 
    mmc_block               5636  2 
    snd_hda_intel         269072  1 
    fmaud                 142820  1 snd_hda_intel
    snd_seq_oss            20160  0 
    snd_seq_midi_event      3008  1 snd_seq_oss
    snd_seq                27920  4 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
    snd_seq_device          3468  2 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq
    ath_pci                68256  0 
    uvcvideo               39752  0 
    ath_rate_atheros       23424  1 ath_pci
    snd_pcm_oss            26208  0 
    compat_ioctl32           640  1 uvcvideo
    videodev               20928  1 uvcvideo
    v4l1_compat            10500  2 uvcvideo,videodev
    v4l2_common            10688  2 uvcvideo,videodev
    wlan                  126744  9 wlan_tkip,wlan_ccmp,wlan_xauth,wlan_wep,wlan_acl,wlan_scan_sta,ath_pci,ath_rate_atheros
    jmb38x_xd               3776  0 
    jmb38x_ms               4484  0 
    ath_dfs                25796  1 ath_pci
    snd_pcm                41028  2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm_oss
    sdhci                   9292  0 
    uhci_hcd               13644  0 
    ath_hal               147200  3 ath_pci,ath_rate_atheros
    mmc_core               14852  2 mmc_block,sdhci
    memstick                4292  2 mspro_block,jmb38x_ms
    rng_core                2180  0 
    xd_card                18696  1 jmb38x_xd
    flash_bd                5056  1 xd_card
    r8101                  16400  0 
    snd_timer              11012  2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
    snd_page_alloc          4168  2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
    snd_hwdep               3524  1 snd_hda_intel
    battery                 6472  0 
    video                  10896  0 
    backlight               1860  1 video
    thermal                 8092  1 
    output                  1280  1 video
    ac                      2116  0 
    processor              18624  2 acpi_cpufreq,thermal
    button                  3536  0 
    snd_mixer_oss           9856  2 snd_pcm_oss
    snd                    27236  9 snd_hda_intel,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_pcm_oss,snd_pcm,snd_timer,snd_hwdep,snd_mixer_oss
    soundcore               2976  2 snd
    usb_storage            34656  0 
    ehci_hcd               20300  0 
    atkbd                   8912  0 
    psmouse                13320  0 
     
    Wicked, Aug 19, 2008
  16. obarriel

    esaym

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    strange. Well I wiped the default install pretty quickly when I got my one. I did rsync the drive before then though and var/log/dmesg shows a line"ACPI: Thermal Zone [THRM] (55 C)" On most computers that info is pulled from /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/THRM/temperature (if the acpi is fully supported). I spent several hours the other day trying to see how to get the readings in there and all I could come up with was that it was controlled by something in the kernel but I never found where. On my current distro I can see in dmesg where is starts to play with the acpi ec stuff but ultimately all it gets from it is the routing.
     
    esaym, Aug 19, 2008
  17. obarriel

    hmmwv

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I followed the instruction on the Wiki and it works in Ubuntu, I hate to ask again but had anyone tried anything in XP? I dual boot and I have to use XP often...............Thanks.
     
    hmmwv, Aug 23, 2008
  18. obarriel

    casainho

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good luck on XP ;-) eheh :)

    But there is one thing that you can try on XP that can help you and maybe help us on Ubuntu, at least for we search on that -- under voltage the processor. I made some tests and looks like processor can be under voltage an expressive value... and that may means less energy used (with all advantages like save money, good for environment, less heat) - good for this fanless idea. Who knows if with less heat the fan goes lower speed?-- try to find for XP programs that under voltage dual core Intel processors, they my work with the Atom.

    On XP, I would say that maybe you can apply the same script, or at least change the values on the EC registers, If you know how to write to that ports... you can read the acer_ec.pl script to find that ports. I believe that they are also available on XP.
     
    casainho, Aug 23, 2008
  19. obarriel

    hygren

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    On an old centrino laptop I used a few years ago I undervolted the cpu with a free software named rightmark cpu something something. Will look for this when I have time. I recall it greatly increasing the battery time...
     
    hygren, Aug 23, 2008
  20. obarriel

    casainho

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I am also sure that will also lower the temperature!! We would get two in one ;-) better fannless hack and longer battery time :)
     
    casainho, Aug 23, 2008
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.