Fedora 10 Sound doesn't work

Discussion in 'Linux' started by sjs50613, Apr 1, 2009.

1. sjs50613

sjs50613

Hi folks, I could use some debugging help. I am in the process of doing a Fedora 10 install and although the rest of the hardware features seem to work as expected, sound does not work at all. I've read the other posts I could find on this subject and tried those suggestions, to no avail. I should note that I am new to Linux and still very much in the early stages of learning. Here's what is going on:
    I followed the Fedora 10 XFCE install per instructions at http://jorge.fbarr.net/2008/11/10/fedor ... spire-one/. Neither internal speakers nor the headphone jack provide any audio. A speaker icon shows on my top desktop toolbar at the right as well as a tiny slider "meter" to the right of the icon. My /etc/modprobe.d/sound file specifies model=acer-aspire.
    When I open the right-click desktop menu, under Multimedia it includes the PulseAudio Volume app, which I verified that settings are active.
    When I open the panel using the speaker icon on the top menu bar, I get a different Volume Control panel with only Master and Capture on it. On both of these I've tried both the default and the HDA Intel Device settings.
    I don't see any indication that I am in a Mute state.
    Sound worked fine with Linpus.
    I don't know what to try next. Is there a way to uninstall all the audio drivers that may possibly be there, then try reinstalling whatever it is that I need
    Any debugging ideas?
    Steve

sjs50613, Apr 1, 2009
  2. sjs50613

HappyHarry

when you click the speaker and the volume selector is shown make sure that you have the volume slider for 'PCM' showing and turned up full ;)

phil

HappyHarry, Apr 6, 2009
  3. sjs50613

sjs50613

Hi Phil,