Firefox won't load

Discussion in 'Linux' started by LinuxFool567, Jan 19, 2009.

1. LinuxFool567

LinuxFool567

Hello, I'm new to the Linux OS; recently I bought an Acer AspireOne 150 (blue case, 120Gb HD, 512Mb RAM, etc) with Acer Linpus Lite pre-installed. I only need the One for mailing and Web access while travelling so no great demands being made of it.

I should have left well alone but decided I wanted to upgrade the Firefox V2 browser for Firefox V3.0; big mistake – I quickly found that Linux is not Windows XP! Having followed the instructions set down in (URL http://macles.blogspot.com/2008/07/inst ... e-one.html) I now find that I'm unable to access the Internet from the Aspire One's 'Connect Browser' desktop icon; indeed I cannot connect to the Internet at all as the link from the icon to the Firefox application is broken. I can use all other functions – Messenger, E-mail, etc., so I'm sure web access is there but not for the Firefox browser.

This should be the time I decide to give up on Linux and load XP Home but in the main I'm more than happy with the performance of Linpus Lite and would like to keep it. I also don't want to do a clean install from the OS restore DVD as I feel sure that my One is not 'broken' enough to justify that. What stops a repair is my TOTAL LACK of Linux experience and a lack of familiarity with the command line approach.

So what I'd like is a SIMPLE step by step guide showing me how I can get back to my original Firefox V2 web browser via the Browser icon. I imagine the Firefox V2 code is still there on my HD somewhere but of course my 'upgrade' attempt may well have deleted it but I have no way of telling. I did try /opt/firefox/firefox from 'Terminal – user@localhost' but it returned the message “No such file or directory”.