First Thing To Do with New AA1?

Discussion in 'Linux' started by treker, Nov 30, 2008.

1. treker

treker

Absolute AA1 newbie here. What are the recommended FIRST things to do? Is live update the best thing for new machine? Will it "break" any loaded software?

Thanks for the help. I am learning alot on this forum.

treker, Nov 30, 2008
  2. treker

stoker98

Yes, connect to the internet (wirelessly or by cable), then do the updates.

After that, I suggest you familiarise youself with the machine. Get a spare SD card for data, and another for the left slot, so you can expand your space for programs.

Go to the Acer Aspire official website, and see if you want to download some of the additional programs they have there. I like Skype and Gimp in particular.

If you are experienced in using Linux, then get into "advanced mode" (do a search to find out how). You will then be able to alter more settings and download more programs from the Linpus server.

If you have a printer, you will need to attach that and install drivers. Actually, you may need to get into "advance mode" in order to download a suitable driver. That is what I had to do to use my Epson C66.

S.

stoker98, Nov 30, 2008
  3. treker

busby1971

Things that I have done so far:
    Bought 16 GB memory card
    Bought a case
    Did the updates thing
    Installed Firefox 3
    Installed Skype
    Installed Thunderbird
    Installed VLC
    Installed Amarok

That'll do me for now,

I'm tempted to get a cheap one in the new year just play around on, or a more expensive one and play around with this one.

busby1971, Dec 1, 2008
  4. treker

pablo2340

Hi, Stoker98.

To install a printer, is it sufficient to attach the printer (USB port), then try "Add new printer" from the Printer Configuration? Would that prompt for the download of drivers?

I'm new to Linux, but have tried one or two things already...

pablo2340, Dec 2, 2008
  5. treker

pablo2340

UPDATE