Freeciv SDL

Discussion in 'Linux' started by seth, Nov 20, 2008.

1. seth

seth

Hi,
    I used to like playing Civilisation on my old PC, and I was happy to find out that there is a free Civilisation-clone in the Fedora repositories available.
    But when I installed freeciv from there, it didn't fit on my screen :( Apparently, the version of freeciv in the repositories uses a too big resolution...

After some surfing, I found out that there is actually a version of freeciv that uses a different "client" to run: SDL and this version is made for devices with smaller screens.

Now since I am a complete newbie (seriously, I think this post has at least 5 mistakes in it :) ), I was wondering if anyone got freeciv SDL running on his or her One... and if they could post a small guide for me here. Mayhaps :)

Any advise that can make freeciv fit in my One's screen would be greatly appreciated!

PS: Please forgive any language mistakes, I am not a native English speaker...

seth, Nov 20, 2008
  2. seth

danjlawson

Hi,

For anyone wanting to play freeciv on the AA0 http://helpfulstuff.blogspot.com/2008/11/install-freeciv-sdl-client-on-aspire.html has a detailed howto. Assuming you've gotten the AA0 advanced mode set up, the steps there can be condensed down to:

1. Install a repository containing freeciv for Fedora 8. At time of writing, this can be installed from: http://dnmouse.org/repo/Fedora/ajrepo-2-2.noarch.rpm - simply click this link to install the repository (you'll have to give it root access).

2. Install freeciv. You need both freeciv-server and freeciv-client-sdl, which can be accessed through "system->add/remove software" or by typing in a console :
    sudo yum install freeciv-client-sdl freeciv-server

3. start freeciv (its added to the menu as games->freeciv), or is "civclient-sdl" from a command line). Edit the options to 1024x600 fullscreen and the world is ready to be conquored ;)

Hope this works for others?

danjlawson, Dec 21, 2008
  3. seth

seth