General noob questions

Discussion in 'Windows' started by Mikell, Feb 25, 2009.

1. Mikell

Mikell

Ok, so im pretty new to computer stuff, I know a little, but nothing really, lol.

First things first, bought the AAO in my sig.
    Just got it today.
    What should I do to it to make it run best?

Things to remove that it came with?(Bloatware or something? Ive no idea what it is, or where to find it, lol.)
    Things to install? (I hear something about firefox?)
    Things to update? (Drivers? Where to get them? Which ones?)

I seemed to have a little trouble connecting to my home wireless network at first, kept saying Internet explorer could not open this page. It seemed ok after I turned the popup blocker off, dont know if that was a cooincidence or not? But it seems to be working ok now, might of just been my home internet.

They dont have any case to put on it to maybe absorb some bumps it might take in my bag do they? Not a carrying case, something that covers the laptop and stays on or something, like a skin but protective?

Thanks
    -Steve-

Mikell, Feb 25, 2009
  2. Mikell

BelgianAlien

Things To Remove:

McAfee
    MS Works
    MS Office Trial

Things to install:

FireFox (much better browser, available at www.mozilla.com)
    Open Office (Free office software suite, supports all MS office file formats, runs much smoother. Free download at www.openoffice.org)

For Antivirus I use Avast Home Edition (free). I have my windows firewall turned on and the firewall in both my routers (elaborate setup, I know, but I have 6 computers in my home). I have never had issues with this setup in the 4 years I have had it this way. No viruses, no hack attacks.

I'm trying to remember what all came preinstalled that I ended up removing, but those are the only ones that come to mind immediately.

BelgianAlien, Feb 25, 2009
  3. Mikell

Mikell

Thanks alot, I have gotten firefox, and avast pro.