good antivirus/internet security for AA1?

Discussion in 'Windows' started by JoeyStorm, Oct 2, 2008.

1. JoeyStorm

JoeyStorm

Whats a good antivirus/internet security program for AA1?

Something preferably that doesn't eat up ram like that pathetic MacAfee that came with the netbook.

Right now I'm using Avira as a free one.

JoeyStorm, Oct 2, 2008
  2. JoeyStorm

chuckcalo

Honestly I don't have any antivirus software on my pc, they sincerily worsen your laptop status. That's just me tho, I don't download music here just tv shows and most of them I watch em online. I've never used antivirus before but I know for sure that the CA Antivirus Package is really good.

chuckcalo, Oct 3, 2008
  3. JoeyStorm

bugbot42

I have AVG free Anti-virus running with Zonealarm Firewall also running. They've been working perfectly and have not slowed down my computer at all. I'd recommend them easily. You can get them from www.downloads.com via CNET.com.

bugbot42, Oct 3, 2008
  4. JoeyStorm

Tamrac

On the FREE side, the good ones are AVIRA, AVG, AVAST.....

AVIRA - small memory footprint, fast, best detection rate among the FREE AV... but has popup on updates(not a big issue)

AVG - version 8 has "link scan" w/c eats alot of memory. Do not include link scan on the setup, and you're ok. Boot-up time also increases.

AVAST - many say it's lite on resources. But I havent tested this lately. Last time I did use AVAST, I find it slow.

On non-free side....

NOD32 - version 2.7 is extremely fast and efficient. Although there's a version 3 already. Version 2.7 is still available on their site. And both use the same definition files. So no issue on the detection rates. NOD32 is arguably the best AV money can buy.

Tamrac, Oct 3, 2008
  5. JoeyStorm

andy100

Snap! I've used this combo for about 5 years on various machines with no problems whatsoever.