Help a complete newbie

Discussion in 'MacOS' started by zebek, Sep 29, 2008.

1. zebek

zebek

So I am currently downloading an iAtk0s disc right now,and will be burning it later. Tomorrow night I am going to replace my WiFi card with a Dell 1390. When I have the unit apart should I replace the 512mb module installed in the unit with a 1gb giving me 1.5gb rather than 1gb or will OSX be fine with 1gb of RAM, also I am wondering if I dual boot XP and OSX if my XP partition is NTFS will I be able to see my XP partition from OSX and my OSX partition from XP. I would like a drive that is accessible from both. Also I don't use FAT32 because I typically deal with many large DVD size files and heard FAT32 will not go over 4gb.
    I see all of these people talking about OSX stuff but there doesn't seem to be a Newbie guide........I mean complete newbie, my daughters macbook is so foreign to me and the reason I want to install on my one is so that I can learn OSX and help her.

I see all of these .kexts referrals and have no idea what the heck that even means......lol

Please someone give me some info....

zebek, Sep 29, 2008
  2. zebek

fletch33

1. have you truly read the guides here because most of them are very very detailed?
    2. do you have an external USB DVD/CD drive?

fletch33, Sep 29, 2008
  3. zebek

SbM

Indeed, I don't see how I could make mine more detailed without explaining what "clicking the mouse button" means ;)

SbM, Sep 29, 2008
  4. zebek

rocklord

If you have the AAO apart, you might as well go as high with the RAM as you can. OSX will function fine with only 1GB of memory, as opposed to the memory hog Windows XP.

Windows XP will not recognize the OSX drive without software such as MacDrive 7 or TransMac 8.1.