help help

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by superaudio, Nov 5, 2008.

1. superaudio

superaudio

hi this is my first post . i am a complete novice to computing, i would like some help --- as i have bought two acer- aoa 150 - ab models ,for my twin grandaughers , do you have to install any operating systems or does it come pre installed and if pre installed what is installed in this model-- they are xmas presents and need to be fully set up and running on xmas morning thanks.

superaudio, Nov 5, 2008
  2. superaudio

Dartsani

They come with Windows Xp home edition.
    BEFORE you give them to your twins..
    1. Finish the installation -> choose usernames, localization stuff etc (easy job)
    2. Activate the firewall and virus protection
    3. Configure the needed information for internet connection, in case your wlan/lan has some password etc
    4. Update the Windows AND firewall & virus protection

Ofc you might want to replace that 60day security suite version with some free alternative...(remember to uninstall it in case you replace it)
    ZoneAlarm as firewall (open the internet browser, messenger etc and give them permission to use the internet connection)
    AVG as virus protection
    Firefox or Chrome for web browsing, way safer than Internet Explorer

Dartsani, Nov 5, 2008
  3. superaudio

superaudio

thank you for this help, this has solved my problem and i now know what is needed, to get them up and running-- thanks again

superaudio, Nov 5, 2008
  4. superaudio

daldred

I may be wrong, but I thought the 'ab' models were all Linux based?

daldred, Nov 5, 2008
  5. superaudio

clc4912

Not to bash the linux version by any means but if they are gifts for two young grand daughters, you may want to make sure they are the Windows XP versions as I am sure they have more familiarity with Windows based OS.

Linux is great but not necessarily for the beginner. How old are your grand daughters?

clc4912, Nov 5, 2008
  6. superaudio

daldred