Help installing GIMP plugin...

Discussion in 'Linux' started by Jason G, Feb 7, 2009.

  1. Jason G

    Jason G

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All,

    I need some help installing a GIMP plugin... anti chromatic abberation. I have the GIMPv2.4 at the moment on Linux Linpus Lite, 8Gb model. The software is documented here, http://kcd.sourceforge.net/fix-ca.php and you just save a file - fix-ca.c

    I've tried running the suggested line from both the GIMP plugin folders:

    Code:
    gimptool-2.0 --install fix-ca.c
    ...but it returns saying, among a line of errors:

    One plugin folder is in usr/lib/gimp/2.0/plugins. I therefor tried copying and pasting the fix-ca file staight in but the paste option is greyed-out. I then tried Ctrl+v, etc but still nothing. I've re-loaded the GIMP several times after each attempt but the plugin browser still doesn't list it...

    I really need the plugin to work, so what am I doing wrong?

    Take care,

    Jason :cool:
     
    Jason G, Feb 7, 2009
    #1
  2. Jason G

    mattytee

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Did you install gcc and gimp-devel? They'll both be needed to compile this.
     
    mattytee, Feb 7, 2009
    #2
  3. Jason G

    Jason G

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply!

    Are they? Oh. No, I haven't. Where do I get them from?

    I'm still a newbie to Linux...
     
    Jason G, Feb 7, 2009
    #3
  4. Jason G

    Jason G

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I've just used RPMFind.net to try and install Gimp-Devel, but the installation didn't work as it had five required dependencies. I then tried to find one and install it but that in turn had ten!

    Surely there's a quicker way to install a plug-in, some online compiler somewhere??

    EDIT: I've come across this website - ftp://ftp.netbsd.org/pub/pkgsrc/current ... EADME.html - and I now have a 30Kb 'executable' file. If this is right, I take it it won't need compiling? If so, how can I put this in the folder it needs to go in where it'll be recognised?

    Thanks!!
     
    Jason G, Feb 7, 2009
    #4
  5. Jason G

    mattytee

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    1
    I don't think a compiled BSD binary will work.

    The easiest way to get dependencies all taken care of would be to install via:
    Code:
    sudo yum install gimp-devel gcc
    The gimp-devel package is in the repositories. If you get any weird repository errors, don't forget:
    Code:
    sudo yum install fedora-release
     
    mattytee, Feb 7, 2009
    #5
  6. Jason G

    Jason G

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Mattytee,

    Your help is very much apreciated!

    This was the last four lines...

    ...so now it'll be OK to go ahead with trying to install the plugin?

    Thanks :)

    EDIT: I've tried again but still get errors...

    Not too sure I'm doing it right!! I've opened My Downloads and Launched Terminal Here. I then entered:

    then get these last few lines:

    What am I doing wrong?? I've also tried

    Code:
    sudo yum localinstall fix-ca.c
    but then am told:

    Code:
    [user@localhost fix-ca]$ sudo yum localinstall fix-ca.c
    Setting up Local Package Process
    Cannot open file: fix-ca.c. Skipping.
    Nothing to do
    [user@localhost fix-ca]$ 
    
    Thanks... again!!!
     
    Jason G, Feb 7, 2009
    #6
  7. Jason G

    mattytee

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    1
    This means it didn't install. And gimp-devel must be what depends on gtk2-devel, so it isn't installed either.

    Try:
    Code:
    sudo yum install gtk2 gimp-devel
    If there are any more unresolved dependencies, you'll have to add packages to the list until everything is resolved. The final message should be like "Packages X,Y,Z installed."

    It's likely that the compile failure is due to the missing dependencies.
     
    mattytee, Feb 7, 2009
    #7
  8. Jason G

    Jason G

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Mattytee,

    I really appreciate your help!

    It finished the installation with:

    ...and not the packages X, Y, Z installed' bit.

    What's gone wrong?!

    EDIT: This is a recurring error I've been getting throughout, about halfway up the 'log'.

    I've since tried things like:

    Code:
    sudo yum install gimpui2.0.pc
    ...but it just says:

    I mean, it's obviously bored so you'd think it'd work!!!

    As I said, I really appreciate it!!

    Take care,

    Jason :cool:
     
    Jason G, Feb 8, 2009
    #8
  9. Jason G

    mattytee

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    1
    You cannot install a c file through yum, rpm, etc. It must be compiled by a c compiler. That's what gcc is and why you had to install it.

    gimpui-2.0 should've been installed as part of gimp-devel, from what I can find. Search your system for the file. It may be in /usr/local/lib/pkgconfig/

    If it exists, you can do the following (substitute the path where you found gimpui):
    Code:
    export PKG_CONFIG_PATH=/usr/local/lib/pkgconfig:$PKG_CONFIG_PATH
    
    If it doesn't exist, I'm stumped. I Googled around a lot and from everything I find, gimp-devel is all you should need.
     
    mattytee, Feb 8, 2009
    #9
  10. Jason G

    Jason G

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    I searched for 'gimpui-2.0.pc' and nothing was found. Should I reinstall GIMP? If so, is there a sudo yum install code to use? I read here - http://209.85.229.132/search?q=cache:fj ... =firefox-a - and they say it's a distribution error, not a GIMP one. Anyway, I have v2.4.0-rc3, I think the current one is v2.6.4.

    /usr/local/lib/ is empty, too.

    Thanks!
     
    Jason G, Feb 8, 2009
    #10
  11. Jason G

    mattytee

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Aha! I may have found you a solution here.

    Basically, gimp-devel may be for the 1.0-series gimp, not the 2.x-series. That page was for SUSE, not Fedora, so it's possible gimp-devel is for 2.x, but worth a shot anyway.

    Per that thread, try:
    Code:
    sudo yum install gimp-devel-2.0
    and see if we finally got this one.

    Are you having fun yet? This reminds me of getting my palmpilot working on USB.
     
    mattytee, Feb 8, 2009
    #11
  12. Jason G

    Jason G

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Matt,

    Yep, just starting to :lol:

    ...I tried it and got:

    ...so, are you?! Anyway, I did the 'sudo yum install gimp' thing and have now gone from X.4.0 to X.4.7, so somethings happened. I retried 'gimptool-2.0 --install fix-ca.c' and it still said it couldn't find 'gimpui-2.0'

    I've just checked /usr/lib/gimp/2.0/ and it has two files, gimpui.pyc and gimpui.pyo in .../python/

    Any help? Could I just find a gimpui-2.0.pc online somewhere?

    Any more ideas??

    PS: Oh oh oh, I've got a Palm Pilot, but I won't ask ;) :D
     
    Jason G, Feb 8, 2009
    #12
  13. Jason G

    mattytee

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sorry, I don't know what to do really. Here is everything else I would try:

    First try updating pkgconfig, since it figures into the error, although it's likely not the culprit:
    Code:
    sudo yum update pkgconfig
    Update libgimp, again, not likely to do much good:
    Code:
    sudo yum update libgimp
    Run
    Code:
    sudo yum info gimp-devel
    to find out what version is installed.
    The most current version available for Fedora 8, which is what Linpus is based on, is 2.4.7-3. If your version is older than that, you can download it here.

    If you had an older version, install the one you just downloaded. Open a terminal in the directory you downloaded to and run:
    Code:
    sudo rpm -U gimp-devel*
    If that fails for any reason, try the next line of code below.

    If that's the version you already have, you might try installing it anyway. Download it, and open a terminal in that directory, then run:
    Code:
    sudo rpm -U --force gimp-devel* --nodeps
    And that's all I can think of. If it doesn't do the trick, sorry, I'm at a loss. You might post in the GIMP plugin registry forums and see if someone can help. For their purposes, you can say you're running Fedora 8. They would know if you can just put that missing file on and have it work. Someone'd probably send you one to try, at any rate.

    As for your palmpilot, you're in luck, I have a howto posted on this forum.
     
    mattytee, Feb 8, 2009
    #13
  14. Jason G

    Jason G

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, I've carried out the steps...

    EDIT: It came up with...

    ...so that went well.

    Back to you...

    EDIT: It says:

    Back to you...

    EDIT: Retried, and I got:

    ...so presumably it doesn't need updating.

    Back to you again...

    ...I did, and got the same. I take it is IS up to date.

    I finally tried the plugin-install code, 'gimptool-2.0 --install fix-ca.c', but again:

    ...so, same old! :roll:

    As I've said, I genuinely appreciate all your help. I'll try the forum for GIMP next, but thanks for all you've done :)
     
    Jason G, Feb 8, 2009
    #14
  15. Jason G

    mattytee

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well, wait, it actually sounds like gimp-devel is not installed based on your post. That would make everything make sense.

    Let's try one other command:
    Code:
    sudo yum install glib2-devel gtk2-devel gimp-devel
    and see what kind of output you get. You're looking for the same thing as before, a (likely huge) batch of depndencies to install, then at the end, some kind of success message.

    We may beat this yet.
     
    mattytee, Feb 8, 2009
    #15
  16. Jason G

    Jason G

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Mattytee,

    I entered the code you gave and allowed it to go ahead with 37Mb of installs and updates. It finished with, among other bits:

    ...and subsequently tried the same install code:

    Code:
    gimptool-2.0 --install fix-ca.c
    ...which gave a shorter error of:

    ...instead of the usual:

    I then retried it by launching it in a directory containing Fix-CA.c, and it said:

    ...so I relaunched the GIMP and it was there! Success!

    You really are an expert in Linux and your perseverance and determination to help is a credit to you :D

    I'm so greatful, honestly. I just wish this forum had a Rep'ing system...

    Mattytee, thankyou for all your help!

    *shakes hand*
    PS This is a simple one this time, but how do you minimise the size of the filter pop-up window? Even when it's been minimised about 20% is obscured below the screen. I therefor don't have the OK button, but which can be replaced by hitting Enter. However, I am also missing another two controls. Are there any preferences for this at all?
     
    Jason G, Feb 9, 2009
    #16
  17. Jason G

    mattytee

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Glad we got that one sorted! It's not always this much fun. At least you're armed with a lot more knowledge next time you need to do something that's not point-and-click.

    The way you have come at it, with a willingness to read, learn, and experiment, will see you through any number of difficulties.

    I STRONGLY recommend you back your entire system up right away now that you have things working. I can recommend this system.

    As for the size issue, I'm not aware of any way to make the window smaller, but you can hold the ALT key, click the window, and move it upward so those controls are not obscured.
     
    mattytee, Feb 9, 2009
    #17
  18. Jason G

    Jason G

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Matt, will do as soon as I have a spare USB. Alt + drag works too, so thanks again!

    Take care,

    Jason :cool:
     
    Jason G, Feb 9, 2009
    #18
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.