HELP!!! XFCE failure!!!

Discussion in 'Linux' started by elf69, Oct 17, 2008.

1. elf69

elf69

I have an acer aspire one with linux 120GB HDD and 512MB RAM....

My problem is that now XFCE has failed to load on boot so I have no desktop background!
    Also have no Etherne or wireless its all gone!

Help!
    I need the internet....
    I use the machine for work...

This is the 3rd time in the 3 weeks I have had this machine its happened....
    I really dont want to restore again!
    I have put so many drivers in so I can use it at work!

Im seriously thinking of selling it and and jsut using my toshiba XP laptop!

elf69, Oct 17, 2008
  2. elf69

PoV

Well, if you know what you did to break it, you can make a USB key and sneak in to the files via a remote Linux Distro, and undo your changes.

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=5337

PoV, Oct 17, 2008
  3. elf69

Elllipsis

Much of this is due to the idiotic Linpus updates that break everything...no modern distribution would survive if they behaved like this. Do not update your machine ( I honestly can't believe I said that).

I am personally waiting on Ubuntu 8.10 and OneLinux which will be based on it. (8.10's release date is 2 weeks away and I am guessing that by the new year at the latest we will be glowing in OneLinux bliss...perfect timing I would say).

Elllipsis, Oct 18, 2008
  4. elf69

mh-

Third time in three weeks sounds... a lot. My guess is that something got messed up while you installed all them custom drivers etc. you mentioned. Not all guides are written by experts and those that are tend to assume the reader is, if not an expert, at least an experienced user. Also, hardly *any* guides are written by professional writers - creating a good manual/guide is not an easy task. Your basic "I got <this> to work by doing <the following>" may very well have left out whatever changes the writer did a month ago in order to fix something else (which also happened to be required for this new tweak)...