How do I install my HP all in one printer?

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by Geekgirl, Nov 23, 2008.

1. Geekgirl

Geekgirl

Hi,
    Im a complete novice to Linux so please bear with me.

I have a HP Deskjet F4280 printer and I cannot get it to print. My AAO has detected it and said I needed some drivers which were downloaded and installed. The AAO recognises the printer is there and sends the document over to be printed, but nothing actually prints out. I cannot get a test page or anything.
    I'm getting very frustrated with it now :cry:
    Any ideas?
    Many Thanks
    Caroline

Geekgirl, Nov 23, 2008
  2. Geekgirl

andychurchill

Did you get this working in the end? :)

andychurchill, Jan 25, 2009
  3. Geekgirl

andychurchill

OK, Not sure if you figured it out, but I did some hunting around, and managed to get this working in the end. I can't really explain most of the steps I did as I didn't make a note of them, so I can't say all the individual steps, and maybe some of the things listed below, have eventually meant I did them twice when I didn't need to. :)

First thing I'd done is naively inserted the printer into the USB port and assumed that the fact it recognised a printer being connected would mean that it was working. It didn't work! grr!

So, I did some googling and came across this url: https://answers.launchpad.net/hplip/+question/48001

Particularly, this post in the thread:

"I've just had some recent fun trying to get an HP 1350 running with my Acer Aspire One, and think I've found the "magic" fix...

First of all, everything looked ok, and the Aspire recognized the printer when I plugged it in and automatically seemed to get the correct drivers. My problem was when I tried to print, I would just be stuck forever at "processing".

So I did an investigation and found an interestting thread on the osdir.com website concerning printing to the PSC series of HP printers...