How to install aMSN?

Discussion in 'Linux' started by toffee, Jul 23, 2008.

1. toffee

toffee

I'm a newbie here....!

I downloaded the auto package of the aMSN, however, I don't know how to install it. Also, I want to know how to install aMSN tarball! I try to follow the info from their site, but without any luck. I can only finish the step of unpacking the tarball and I'm stuck now.

The original messenger sucks!!

toffee, Jul 23, 2008
  2. toffee

qbic2005

you are trying to do it way to difficult

first follow the following guide
    "http://www.aspireoneuser.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=28"

This will enable the normal xfce menu
    Now, right click somewhere on the desktop and choose 'system' --> 'add/remove software' from the menu, there go to search and type amsn, click it and apply ... ready to go ;)

Now a little question for you, once you configured it try to setup a video chat with one off your users, this initiates a configuration wizard, the camera seems to work but it complains about the microphone drivers ??? does it do that with yours too?

And if so, we gonna have to search for a solution i guess .... anybody ??

qbic2005, Jul 25, 2008
  3. toffee

within

Hi there,

after unsuccessful install of PidGin, I've tried aMSN.
    Same pain... :evil:

still dependencies problem, related to tcl which is not installed.
    I've tried using the package file from official amsn website, I've tried from the add/remove software and I've tried the yum command in terminal: no joy, no working way.

further help is needed, thanks.
    within

within, Aug 3, 2008
  4. toffee

qbic2005

Believe there are 2 packages for aMSN in the repo?

I installed the latter (higher) version, can you post the exact error you get and the exact version you install?

(the audio problem is solved also, just had to install libsnack from the repo)

[EDIT]Also did you read this topic?
    http://www.aspireoneuser.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=208

qbic2005, Aug 5, 2008
  5. toffee