How to open downloads - total noob

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by brandnewuser, Jan 18, 2009.

1. brandnewuser

brandnewuser

Hi - just bought an Acer Aspire 48 hrs ago with Linux. Never used Linux before, so don't know anything about it.

My problem is that I have downloaded a number of programs for Linux onto my computer - eg, Gimp, Open Movie, but I cannot open them. I extract them with full path, and then try to open, but the best result I get is an message to say that 'archive format not recognized'????

I am a real noob, so don't understand much in the way of Linux terminology - please go very gentle on me!!

Thank you very much for any help.

brandnewuser, Jan 18, 2009
  2. brandnewuser

woodland

Hi...

Lesson 1: Forget ALL about windows
    Lesson 2: LINPUS your Operating System is a special breed of linux written especially for the AA1
    Lesson 3: Acer doesn't want you to change stuff... unless you do it their way.

tip 1: go to the acer support site and install the software they offer you there: http://www.acer.com/aspireone/support/f ... t.html#004

tip 2: if you wanna do things your way you have to hack the O.S.: search this forum for the topics on Advanced Desktop Mode it will show you how to get rid of the standard desktop

enough homework ;) for today

Sorry if i come over a bit old and grumpy, not my intention.. but you do yourself a big favor by searching and reading a lot here before you start messing up your AA1.
    Please be sure to read topics on how to Backup and Restore your system First.. it will save you a lot of trouble, pain, anger, frustration, time etc, etc.,

Enjoy your AA1 (i do!)

woodland, Jan 18, 2009
  3. brandnewuser

brandnewuser

Thank you Woodland.

Knowing that I have LINPUX is useful. This is all brand new to me.