How to run vim, and other programs in Linux

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by velo, Sep 9, 2008.

1. velo

velo

Hi! Excuse me, but I'm a totally noob in Linux and those terminal commands etc. etc.
    I would like to use vim text editor for some html writing.
    As far as I recon, the vim-common (+ some other vim packages) is installed on my AAO, but how do I run it? And how can I get a shortcut to my installed program on the Linpus screenboard?

velo, Sep 9, 2008
  2. velo

scottro

I'm not sure if the default installs vim or vi.

To run it, you would just type, in an xterm (open one by going alt+F2, then typing xterm)
    vim

If you get command not found then type
    vi

scottro, Sep 9, 2008
  3. velo

Ace_Rimmer

Just a thought --

vim can be hard to use. I recommend using add/remove to install nano or (my favorite) gedit.

Any program (e.g. vim) that uses commands like <esc>:wq to save and exit is "too hard" for me!

:D

Ace_Rimmer, Sep 10, 2008
  4. velo

scottro

At my last job, I was just learning to use Unix and Unix like systems. (I'd been hired as the MS guy, oddly enough.)
    I thought I was pretty geeky, I used pine and pico. (Pico is a nano like editor, probably its forerunner, but was only included with pine.)
    My boss told me to do something on the AIX (IBM Unix) machine.
    I logged in and called him..."Errm, there's no pico on it."
    Boss: "Can't you use vi"
    Me: "Errm..."
    Boss: "Never mind, I'll do it."

I quickly learned vi afterwards. Yes, it is intimidating at first--I remember seeing something called typical first vi session which was quite funny, full of ^] ^C ^C, but when you get used to it, which can be in a surprisingly short time, you'll never want to give it up.

Also, it's included on every type of Unix shipped, so it's handy--see story above.