I want Solitaire and Minesweeper! How to do it?

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by steppiemum, Aug 18, 2008.

1. steppiemum

steppiemum

How do I download Solitaire games and other basics like mine sweeper that come automatically with windows programs. I am assuming there is an easy way to do this, but it is beyond me. Also, I am a linux newbie and need really simple directions. If I could put a shortcut on the desktop, that would be awesome too. Thanks! Chris

steppiemum, Aug 18, 2008
  2. steppiemum

Grim Squeaker

Adding software through add/remove software
    Did you activate the "advanced" menu yet ? If not - do so.
    Instructions can be found in the topic Linux Linpus - Acer Aspire One - Advance mode hack.

If you right click on the desktop, you will see an option to "add/remove software" under the system menu. Clicking that will start a program that will allow you to install packages from the fedora repository - including about 224 game related ones :)

The package "gnome-games" will install several games, including minesweeper,blackjack, four in a row and so on. Officially it includes aislerot solitaire, but that seems to not install.
    Fortunately the package "PySolFC" is a good choice for solitaire - it includes the "normal" one you play in windows (klondike) as well as a few 100 others.

If you are addicted to windows games install the package "wine". That will allow you to play quite a few (older/simple) windows games on you aspire one - and comes complete with windows minesweeper ;)

Console install with yum
    Alternatively you can install programs from the console. A terminal window can be opened through the filemanager, or by pressing alt+f2 and typing "terminal" (Without the quotes) in the run box.

Then, to for instance install PySolFC, type sudo yum install PySolFC
    To break this command down for you:
    - sudo tells the system to do this as root (administrator on windows machines)