Infected with Virus! Now what?

Discussion in 'Linux' started by PeterO, Jan 24, 2009.

1. PeterO

PeterO

When I turned on my linpus computer this morning, this appeared:
    [​IMG]

I think it is a virus. Here's why:
    - All I can do as a layman user is drag that darn thing around the screen
    - the menu bar, containing the "home" and "power down/restart/sleep" buttons and wireless meter is missing.
    - I cannot connect to the internet using FireFox
    - I cannot connect to the remote server using Live Update
    - I cannot move files (i.e. like this screen shot) to an external flash key drive

When I use the Windows Task Manager equivalent (Ctrl-Alt-Delete) program (forget the name), I see that there are incoming bytes requested. I presume this virus is trying to download stuff in the background. That is of course if I leave the wireless connection turned on (and not for long). I could not identify which process or processes it is - I'm new to linux.

As for how I got the virus, who knows? The last time I used the computer, I was watching Alfred Hitchcock videos on Hulu.com and checking my email. Note, I'm a very experienced technical Windows user (and Windows programmer) who has not used anti-virus protection software for years. Point is in writing this is I'm very cautious and know better than to download mysterious files, open email attachments, etc. That, of course, does not make me immune from catching a virus. Rather with such computer "street smarts" - just a lot less likely. Additionally, I would have thought even more so limiting the possibilities with using such uncommon, relatively speaking, Linux Linpus software. I find it a bit alarming to have caught a virus so easily. Yikes!

Has anyone else experienced this behavoir? I assume it is a virus. If so, now what? I presume scrub the machine clean and then do a reinstall. How so? Thanks!

PeterO, Jan 24, 2009
  2. PeterO

markh