installing linpus linux on a usb drive

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by Cesium, Aug 18, 2008.

1. Cesium

Cesium

Does anybody know how to install the version of linpus linux that comes with the acer aspire onto a usb drive? Does the recovery disk that ships with the acer provide this option? What i'm trying to accomplish is to have an "experimental operating system" on the usb stick, so if i badly mess anything up, I can just take out the usb drive and boot from my untouched internal sd card- no harm done.

if possible, could you provide the details in a step by step way? I have no experience with linux other than the last 7 days of using this laptop. Thanks to anybody who can help!

Cesium, Aug 18, 2008
  2. Cesium

JimK

I haven't tried it, but the recovery DVD does offer the option to install Linpus Linux. Presumably, you could choose whatever drive you want, including a USB drive. But it may not work properly without a little tweaking of /etc/fstab (and maybe other tweaking, too, I don't know). The reason is that when you install it, your USB drive might be, for example, /dev/sdb, but when you try to boot off it it may be /dev/sda. So, sorry I don't have a how-to for you, but if you somewhat know your way around Linux, it should certainly be doable.

JimK, Aug 18, 2008
  3. Cesium

FireSoul

mmm i think your answer might be through VM workshop

didn't try but i will as soon as i am in the mood :D

FireSoul, Aug 18, 2008
  4. Cesium

Cesium

so the documentation for the recovery disk says you can install it onto a usb drive- but it doesn't appear to be a persistent install. it's just a recovery application that wipes your hard drive and reinstalls the os fresh onto your internal drive. looks like I may have to install a different version of linux onto the usb drive. Funny- most of my searches shows that many different distros of linux can be made bootable from a usb drive.

Cesium, Aug 19, 2008
  5. Cesium

JimK