Installing Ubuntu.

Discussion in 'Linux' started by Geekgirl, May 19, 2009.

1. Geekgirl

Geekgirl

Please accept my apologies if this has been done to death. I tried searching but got nowhere.
    I have Linpus on my Aspire One 150, 120GB.
    I would really like to put Ubuntu onto it now. My question is, Which Ubuntu do I use? There are so many versions out there, some work, some do not. Ideally as a complete novice, I'd be very happy if everything works after install.
    Ad then, How do I do it? Im pretty sure I once saw a step by step guide on this site somewhere, back when I bought it last year,(my aspire has sat on shelf unused because I dont like the Linpus interface.) but can no longer find anything..

Any help will be gratefully recieved!
    Caroline

Geekgirl, May 19, 2009
  2. Geekgirl

itres

You can start by having a look here https://help.ubuntu.com/community/AspireOne.
    Choosing a distribution is a matter of taste you should make a list and try them and find out which one you like.

There are threads about some of these ubuntu flavours:

Ubuntu 9.04
    Xubuntu 9.04
    Kubuntu 9.04
    Ubuntu UNR 9.04

I personally use Ubuntu 9.04 (even if I also follow the work done by the Fedora people), I prefer gnome and I don't like the UNR interface.
    I don't have any particular problem suspend works that's a must for me, wifi with WPA2 works, I can get acerhdf installed. All the software I regularly use runs so that's my choice but it might be different for you.

Grtz

itres, May 19, 2009
  3. Geekgirl

groeswenphil

I installed Ubuntu Remix.
    It looks lovely but on my machine it ran a lot slower than Linpus.
    Also, I couldn't get BBC IPlayer to work at all.

You have to download the iso then get it onto a USB drive..........there are instructions on the Ubuntu site that tell you how.
    Then plug in the usb and start up.