Linpus Lite - how to install it on a USB stick ?

Discussion in 'Linux' started by NickTheBatMan, May 11, 2009.

1. NickTheBatMan

NickTheBatMan

I am a TOTAL Linux Noob ! Been playing with Windows since the early 90s, bought a AA1 with Linpus and whilst playing I've messed up my install and I need to install Linpus again.

I've used this forum and many others to get to where I am now... and now I'm totally stuck !!!

I've downloaded the iso and used unetbootin-windows-307.exe to install it on a 2GB stick.

When I try to boot I get 4 options
    1. Using the Default the AA1 boots and shows the loading icon and the Caps Lock led flashes - it goes no further... only way to get it to do anything is to press and hold the power button.
    2. livecd option produces the following info...
    starting Linux Live scripts <http@//www.linus-live.org>
    * starting squashfs support
    * starting aufs support with nwkq=16 and brs=1
    * creating /dev entries for block devices
    * looking for data directory
    * starting PCMCIA CardBus support
    * waiting for PCMCIA devices...
    Fatal error occured - linpus data not found.
    You are maby using an unsupported boot device (eg SCSI or old PCMCIA).
    Workaround: Copy the directory linpus from your boot device to an IDE/SATA disk, eg. to /mnt/hda1/linpus or C:\linpus. Then try to boot again.
    * Something went wrong and we can't continue. This should never happen
    * Please reboot your computer with Ctrl+Alt+Delete...
    #
    3. install starts with the linpus screen then rapidly scrolls through all sorts of text too quick for me to read or stop and after several things saying they can't load it ends up telling me the following...
    "modprobe: FATAL: Could not load /lib/modules/2.6.20.1-litearima.modules.dep: No such file or directory"
    and it just sits there not doing anything more... until I press C/A/D when it goes through things quickly again and eventually reboots...