Linpus not loading GUI

Discussion in 'Linux' started by YodaTheCat, Apr 3, 2010.

1. YodaTheCat

YodaTheCat

Hi

My wife was watching BBC iPlayer on my son's AA1 last night and this morning the AA1 won't load the Linpus GUI. It gets to the Aspire One splash screen and gives an error xsetroot: Unable to open display 0:0 (or something very close as that disappears off the top of the screen). There are then a load of subsequent errors culminating in GtK-WARNING **: cannot open display: :0.0

I am a Linux newbie and very frustrated that I can't find any advice that makes sense, so please be gentle. Cheers

YodaTheCat, Apr 3, 2010
  2. YodaTheCat

mrpostman

Hello, I've had a few things go wrong with this before. It sounds to me as if theres a problem with your xorg.conf

Assuming you still have the ability to type over the top of the blue screen try the following to copy your xorg backup file over the top of your current xorg (unless its been deleted - easily done!)

Type

Type in the password you set up when installing the system. Press enter to gain root access.

Now to copy the backup file over the top of the current. Type:

If it asks if you want to overwrite regular files or any other questions type Y and then press enter.

Type reboot and press enter. - Hopefully you will now be able to get back into your GUI

I had a similar problem with my xorg file so Im just going off what I did for my system.

Sometimes it is just easier to use your recovery cd :)

mrpostman, Apr 3, 2010
  3. YodaTheCat

YodaTheCat

Thanks for the great, clear response. However I am starting to pull my hair out with this.

I go to put in su password and it says it is incorrect. I never remember setting one as the OS was already installed when I got it. I don't recall receiving anything that says what the password is for this machine. There is no recovery CD AFAIK, there isn't even a CD drive on the machine.