linpus takes over 2 minutes to boot

Discussion in 'Linux' started by azilaka, Oct 6, 2009.

1. azilaka

azilaka

Hi, I'm quite new to linux, and this forum!

I have a relatively new acer one. I bought it about 2 months ago. When I first got it, it took a long time to boot, over 2 minutes, at least, but I thought that was because it was new or something. Now, two months on, its extremely frustrating having to wait. It stays on that blue acer screen. I have tried googling the problem, but it seems like this is a problem faced by windows users, not linux. Please help :? .

azilaka, Oct 6, 2009
  2. azilaka

JimK

Since it appears you haven't done anything to cause the problem, it sounds like you got a bad netbook. Linpus on the One usually boots in well under 30 seconds. The easiest thing to do would be to return it to the store for an exchange, but since it's been more than 30 days they may not allow you to do that. You may have to contact Acer to see about having it serviced or replaced (should still be under warranty). But first try removing everything (SD cards, USB devices, external monitor, ethernet etc.) before you boot and see if anything foreign is causing the long boot time.

JimK, Oct 6, 2009
  3. azilaka

schmadde

Linpus on my Aspire One A110l with all current updates installed boots in exactly 13 Seconds until you get a usable Desktop. BIOS Initialization takes another 8 seconds and for a Wifi Connections you also need to wait a few extra seconds.

If yours takes 2 Minutes, something is wrong. What AAO model do you have? Do you have any 3rd party applications (or hardware) installed? Have you tried a clean install?

schmadde, Oct 6, 2009
  4. azilaka

azilaka

Thanks for the feedback. These are the details that came with the netbook:

Acer Aspire One A150-Ab Netbook, Linpus Linux Lite version, 512MB DDR2 RAM, 120GB HD