Linpus v Ubuntu

Discussion in 'Linux' started by groeswenphil, Apr 15, 2009.

1. groeswenphil

groeswenphil

I was indeed a fool.

I've been a fan of Ubuntu for a couple of years now. Just two days after buying my Acer Aspire One, I came across a magazine article showing how to install Ubuntu Netbook Remix onto an Acer Aspire One.
    The temptation was just too much.

Just in case there's anybody else who fancies trying this, you might like to consider the following.

1) Ubuntu works on an Acer Aspire, but I've a feeling, and this might just be personal.....it only just works. As you work you keep getting these Alzheimer's moments where your netbook appears to drift in and out of consciousness. After a while, this really bugs.
    2) Start-up times. Linpus about 30 seconds. Ubuntu nearer 3 minutes.
    3) Time needed to set up Ubuntu .....about two hours. Time needed to get Linpus back.....on and off ....about three days....no kidding, but then again, I'm not that good with Linux. The Acer recovery disk just didn't work for me. Secondly, finding the Linpus download was a nightmare.
    4) For me, the fact that I couldn't get the BBC IPlayer to work was a real issues, particularly as it worked so well in Linpus.

Maybe I should have persisted and maybe others will do better than myself.

Lesson learned .............if it ain't broke, don't fix it.

Phil

groeswenphil, Apr 15, 2009
  2. groeswenphil

jango

I have Jaunty UNR and i am very happy with it, boot time +/- 25sec, i dint spent 2h to setup it... just my opinion :D

jango, Apr 15, 2009
  3. groeswenphil

joekachurowski

I'm into my third full day of trying to get 8.10 onto my AA1. Limpus just didn't work, but I'm geting more than a little frustrated with the install dieing, and then the re-install starting to download 311 (at last count) updated packages before doing the file write...... :roll:

joekachurowski, Apr 16, 2009
  4. groeswenphil

redkop