Local network access to pictures and music

Discussion in 'Linux' started by mikeatterton, Feb 19, 2009.

1. mikeatterton

mikeatterton

I've spent a lot of time over the last few weeks since I got my aspire getting familiar with Linux and what is available in software packages etc. I'm new to all this and have taken most of what follows from some invaluable entries from other contributors, so if some bits look familiar please accept my thanks and acknowledgements to those out there that are miles in front of me in know how.

My biggest problem was to integrate the aspire with the rest of my network. Trouble is I got the wife one too. So, whatever I did had to cause the least disturbance to what she was familiar with. So, the idea of installing Ubuntu, or making things non user friendly was out of the question. The following set of changes to the Aspire were designed with minimal operator impact in mind.

What you end up with is a set of network drives mounted as directories visible through the conventional thunar file manager, and new programs that can be started from the main menu.

I have included the installation of VLC for music and media, gimp for photo editing and digikam (which comes with showfoto), because a little research on the web indicates these packages will meet my needs best. I am used to photoshop (inc. photoshop album) and I wanted something that best replaced them. There are some more benefits to digikam because it embeds its data in the pictures unlike photoshop album, so next time I have to swap packages there shouldn't be such a bad upheaval . If anyone knows of a utility to extract and embed photoshop data I'd be very glad of a pointer.... I have yet to explore these new programs.

In the following text a > symbol indicates you need to type something or select something off a menu.

Anything between the lines #-------------------------------- means you will need to cut and paste it into a file you've opened for editing.