Mic input: brainstorming a solution for 10.5.5

Discussion in 'MacOS' started by mfds, Dec 9, 2008.

1. mfds

mfds

I have tried to get this issue addressed in both iatks_4 and iatkos_5 topics... but did not got any help there, so I am opening a topic for a more specific discussion on the subject.

After applying all the audio kexts and patches (ALC), we are able to HEAR the audio, but not to use the MIC.
    There is a internal mic to choose in system pref., but all it gives me is static noise... it does not work, can't record anything or use it in ichat or skype... or with my favorite mac recording application, Audio Recorder (free)...
    I have a usb pen that works... but was really hopeful that this wold fix be fix by now.

If anyone is able to get anything else from their mic besides static noise, please show us the way ....

mfds, Dec 9, 2008
  2. mfds

mdc

Well I installed Kalyway on Sunday and followed these instructions.
    I am a real noob on OSX so I wont be able to answer any questions, pretty surprised I got it to work on the first try to tell you the truth. :)
    http://forum.insanelymac.com/index.php? ... 29774&st=0

My microphone works though it is very low input and there is no gain control to fix that.
    Tested it in skype.
    Let me also say I don't know enough about these different version to say it will work on say IATKOS.
    Also I am only at a standard Kalyway install not 10.5.5

1. Download StickMAC kext compilation file at this link >> http://www.mediafire.com/?vmwyyzdmh3y
    2. unzip the file
    3. open kext helper and drag and drop AppleHDA.kext and HDAEnabler.kext
    4. type in password and click EASY Install
    5. to be safe Open Terminal
    6. type "sudo diskutil repairpermissions /" without ""
    7. reboot AAO
    Fixed :
    - Auto Switching from Internal Speaker to headphone
    - Internal Microphone receiving excellently

mdc, Dec 9, 2008
  3. mfds

starsky

Does it work with iChat also? Thanks

starsky, Dec 9, 2008