mount eg /home to left sd

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by muaB, Aug 30, 2008.

1. muaB

muaB

since im a beginner who wants to leran bout linux im trying and destroying a lot. i cant count any more how often i did recover and reconfigured my nb.
    is there a way to use the left sd slot not for expanding the ssd but for mounting config dirs (afaik home&usr (are there more?)) on a sd card in the left slot?
    maybe its even clever to mount some temp dirs there (speed/lifetime of ssd)?

thx in advance

muaB, Aug 30, 2008
  2. muaB

Sid

I am not a linux expert, but I have messed with the One system a lot, enough to need a lot of recovery activity :)

To reduce recovery time I set up a base configuration, then cloned it (took a snapshot) with dd.
    Whenever I want a known config', I just boot a usb stick and then restore my snapshot.

Sid, Aug 31, 2008
  3. muaB

retsaw

The left SD doesn't really expand the SSD. What actually happens is that Linpus makes use of aufs (a union filesystem) to combine the contents of the SD card in that slot with the contents of /home/user (the user's home directory) with both branches being writable, this gives the illusion of the SSD being increased.

It should be possible to stop this happening, but even after extensive examination of the startup scripts I haven't worked out where this mount is being called from though /etc/aufs.act appears to be the controlling script for it.

If you do stop this aufs mount, then it would be possible to use this left slot for regular mounts.

For temp dirs it is better to mount them to a ramdisk rather than a SD card and the main one /tmp already is by default, though you might want to mount /var/log to a ramdisk as well if you want to save SSD writes since IME log files on a desktop aren't often of use.