Mythbuntu?

Discussion in 'Linux' started by paco, Dec 13, 2008.

1. paco

paco

Hi. I'm wondering if I can use the One as a digital video recorder? I understand Mythbuntu is supposed to be able to work sort of like a Tevo, but I've never used it before. I see in another thread that you can use a USB tuner with the One. I have an 8GB SSD One with 1.5GB ram and I want to use a Dell widescreen monitor at 1680x1050 and use an external HD to store the videos. My questions are:

Has anybody used Mythbuntu on their One? I would expect it to work since it's based on Ubuntu, but I'm not sure if I would need to do anything different than what the Ubuntu guides say to set it up.

Will the video quality be acceptable on a 20-inch monitor? The TV source is analog cable, if that makes a difference.

Anything else I need to be aware of?

paco, Dec 13, 2008
  2. paco

cpchan

Recording is certainly possible. However, the AA1 does not really have the power to record and watch another prerecorded video at the same time (doing something else at the some time will also be slow). Things might also be jerky if you set it to flag commercials (mythcommflag) while watching the show currently recording. Also, due to the low spec cpu, if you set it to transcode to another codec to save space, the machine will be slow if you want to do something else at the same time (also the transcoding process will take a long time).

No, I always compile my own MythTV from the developmental tree.

Video quality is quite good. Of course this depends on the capture device being used and the settings of the device if the device is transcoding in hardware.

That being said, the AA1 is quite nice as a mythfrontend around the house.

cpchan, Dec 13, 2008
  3. paco

paco

Thanks for the reply, cpchan. While I don't understand some of the technical stuff you said like transcoding, I think I get the gist of your answer. You're saying it will do a decent job if I don't push it too hard or expect too much out of it?