Netbook Remix (img) with hopeless wifi

Discussion in 'Linux' started by no7fish, Dec 31, 2008.

1. no7fish

no7fish

OK, I'm new to linux like everyone else here but I can pound through some terminal entries pretty well. I have followed the how-to on installing the Netbook Remix img from USB with some hassle but eventually got it in. Now I'm having wireless issues. Obviously it doesn't work out of the box so i went on to trying to install the madwifi stuff.

First I followed the how to right down to the letter and came up with random errors and things. Tinkered with precise wording, etc, eventually saw the folder only contained a README that said it was obsolete!

Next I found another how-to, followed it precisely to a different madwifi driver and had no issues right down to finding the same README. This is stupid, every time I follow the driver instructions posted in various places I end up with this note telling me it's OBSOLETE and I need to go to the Madwifi site, but I can' navigate that site at all, it's all circular it seems and I don't see anything that's specifically applicable to my wifi hardware except for something that says it doesn't work!!

Can someone PLEASE post a simple how-to of making the wireless work on this thing? I mean I can follow instructions but I can't find any instructions that don't lead to an obsolete file. I don't care if it's obsolete if it will make my wifi work...

no7fish, Dec 31, 2008
  2. no7fish

diverbelow

I ran into the same issue about the wireless, but I rebooted after I made some tweaks, and my wireless started working. These tweaks was from the AcerAspireOne Ubuntu page.

NOTE: I did not install ath5k as my connection speeds sucked (max speed was 18Mbps even in the same room with my router). I left the default wireless driver and I was getting 54Mbps (not in the same room with my router).

diverbelow, Dec 31, 2008
  3. no7fish

no7fish