NetworkManager not starting on bootup

Discussion in 'Networking' started by PsychoHoseBeast, Oct 3, 2008.

  1. PsychoHoseBeast

    PsychoHoseBeast

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    The problem I face is that the NetworkManager does not start at boot-time. Having spent some considerable browsing time on this forum it appears as though my problems started (unknowingly at the time) when I tried changing the default xfce desktop to the standard one. It didn't work as expected, so I put everything back as it was... or so I thought.

    The point I am at now, is that once the laptop has booted, I can go to Terminal and "sudo NetworkManager" and it starts up correctly. However, if I do a "ps -ef | grep NetworkManager" beforehand, it doesn't list it, only NetworkManagerDispatcher.

    I am assuming that something has been changed when I tried the other desktop, and that I have mucked up the timing of the services etc on start-up.

    Having spent a few years working with Unix some years back, I am familiar with /etc/rc2.d etc, but I am confused as to which rc?.d I should be looking at to see whether stuff has been commented out etc.

    Has anyone seen this before, or does anyone definitively know which scripts are run at start-up or where I might look as to why the NetworkManager doesn't seem to start at boot-time (either because it is starting out of step with another dependancy, or if it needs to wait a bit longer somewhere or just isn't set to run at all)

    Thanks
     
    PsychoHoseBeast, Oct 3, 2008
    #1
  2. PsychoHoseBeast

    PsychoHoseBeast

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    bump...

    surely there is someone who knows the answer to this?
     
    PsychoHoseBeast, Oct 5, 2008
    #2
  3. PsychoHoseBeast

    quikkie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire, UK
    I have a similar problem since the last update (either that or me tinkering with what started when XFCE starts).

    find out if NetworkManager is running:
    Code:
    /etc/init.d/NetworkManager status
    this should give you a clue as to why it's not running. If the output of that command says "stopped" or "dead but subsystem locked" then it will be safe to do
    Code:
    sudo /etc/init.d/NetworkManager start
    also have a look in /var/lock/subsys to see if NetworkManager has tried to start, it may also be worth checking /var/run/NetworkManager to see if there is a left over pid file.
     
    quikkie, Nov 14, 2008
    #3
  4. PsychoHoseBeast

    quikkie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire, UK
    I haven't found the cause yet but I have a work around to fix it.

    using your favourite text editor edit (as root) /etc/init.d/NetworkManager
    find the bit that look like
    Code:
    start()
    { 
        echo $"Setting network parameters... "
    and insert the following line after the "{"
    Code:
    /bin/sleep 3
    so that you end up with that section looking like:
    Code:
    start()
    {
        /bin/sleep 3
        echo $"Setting the network parameters... "
    This works for me and I believe it should work for everyone else.
     
    quikkie, Jan 10, 2009
    #4
  5. PsychoHoseBeast

    jjj

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Should this fix not booting up after returning from "Sleep"?
     
    jjj, Mar 3, 2009
    #5
  6. PsychoHoseBeast

    quikkie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire, UK
    I don't know.
    Your problem sounds different to PHB (and my) problem.
     
    quikkie, Mar 7, 2009
    #6
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.