newbie and simple q?s

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by david-one-uk, Dec 26, 2008.

1. david-one-uk

david-one-uk

Hello, I'm a newbie and completely new to such a mini-pc and limpus linux. I have XP desktop and vista laptop (currently requiring new HDD, hence the Aspire One).

I had a some tiresome issues with wi-fi connectivity to a netgear dg834 series modem router. I used the live update under settings and so far, things are ok, MOSTLY, but not 100%. Given this is the most widely used modem/router in the UK (apparently) should I be worried?

Q's
    1) Am I to presume that the update patches are the cure for wi-fi problems? (I might add that I have to reset the router EVERY TIME)
    2) Is it normal for 10 patches to take a hour or more on 5-6mbps broadband?
    3) Should I avoid the bios flash (as recommended in the literature) if everything is working?
    4) the recovery CD/DVD ? is this for IT repair professionals as I don't exactly have a USB external optical drive hanging around!!!

Can anyone recommend any exciting websites for limpus linux?

Otherwise, very impressive, super-fast start-up and lovely screen and looks!!

David one-user UK.

david-one-uk, Dec 26, 2008
  2. david-one-uk

barrie

Hi david-one-uk,

I can not comment on number one as I have had no issues running my AAO out of the box. And my initial system update took about one hour to fully download and install.
    Personally I would defiantly not flash the bios.
    And regarding recovery have a look at this thread viewtopic.php?f=17&t=7412; it is very easy to create a USB restore disk it took me about 15 mins from start to finish. ;) But it must be an 8GB stick,and since I posted on that thread I have tested this and all went smoothly, takes you back to original AAO state.

barrie, Dec 26, 2008
  3. david-one-uk

david-one-uk

Thanks barrie,

I shall read and work out how to make a USB recovery stick.