Not updating - Incorrect information file

Discussion in 'Linux' started by robby, May 25, 2009.

1. robby

robby

Hi
    I'm getting the "Incorrect information file - please run live update again" error whenever I try to update. I've done a search and found two threads that appear related - one in the beginners area where lots of people posted that they had the problem - unfortunately no solution was offered. Then here, where the answer, to me, was in gobbledygook. I'm completely new to the linux world, willing to learn. I've had my a110 for about 2 days and only got the chance to use it today - so everything is straight out of the box with no modification except getting on line.

Help very much appreciated - could you please target any response at a level appropriate to a beginner. :)

Thanks

robby, May 25, 2009
  2. robby

vikont

robby, unfortunately Linux is mostly gobbledygook, once you get past the pretty user-friendly GUIs. When it all works, you can use the GUI and it easily can be done by a beginner. However, they broke the normal process in this case, and we have to do stuff manually, from command line - and that's never pretty :)

What I think is happenning, is that the script requests to download file with a wrong name - it leaves a space between .sh and .xml. The server interprets it as .sh and sends the actual .sh 16 MB script to your netbook, which in turn interprets it as .xml file, and fails. There isn't anything useful in .xml files - the goodies are in .sh scripts. So check the version of your OS (1.0.xx), go to the right directory on linpuscdn.040services.net, download files manually, and execute.

Unfortunately, this isn't a long-term solution. The good news they might fix it with the next update.

vikont, May 26, 2009
  3. robby

oxford-lad

I got this problem yesterday after I did a fresh install of v1.0.15.e. I thought it was something I had done wrong/something wrong with the set up.