OOPS.. lost my desktop

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by the-wizard, Feb 13, 2011.

1. the-wizard

the-wizard

I am new to Linux [in all its forms] been trying to get daughters Aspire one up,running,and programed as required so far:-

i have managed to fix the wireless so it works [has been going fine for the last few days]

Today i started to change the defalt for the browser from firefox to Opera, downloaded tested opera and all is fine, went back in and uninstalled firefox [whilst doing this it threw around 20 updates at me,so i said install]

now i have NO desktop [wether or not its something to do with the updates or i have inavertantly unticked a wrong box i dont know] but

I also do not have the comand prompt [Alt f2] all i have is the search box..

do any of you have any bright ideas of how to fix the thing or a quick way to restore factory settings [and i will have to start again]

Thanks
    wizard

ps Mods could not find this problem elswhere but please move if nesasary

the-wizard, Feb 13, 2011
  2. the-wizard

Darryl

On original linpus machines firefox 2 is integrated into the rest of the system and cannot be removed hence you have hosed your system. There is by no means a simple solution for a beginner and so I would suggest downloading an iso of a small linux distro (or one that is easy for newbies eg Linux Mint) onto a usb stick using Unetbootin and installing a new O.S. P.M me on this subject if you need or please search the forums as there is plenty of info around.
    Luck to ya

Darryl, Feb 13, 2011
  3. the-wizard

the-wizard